Keneshia Kirksey, M.D., and Laura Kezar, M.D., were recently highlighted as impactful members by the Association of Academic Physiatrists in celebration of National Women in Medicine Month.
Talene Yacoubian, M.D., Ph.D, and William Geisler, M.D., MPH, have been named co-directors of the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) in the School of Medicine.
On Saturday Oct. 13, Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion, was inducted to the National Academy of Medicine in Washington, DC.
The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) accredits residency and fellowship programs and will be on site October 30-November 1. The team will consist of 5 MDs. The review will focus on the clinical setting in which the residents/fellows train to ensure the setting promotes quality care and prepares residents to be safe health practitioners. It is referred to as the CLER visit (Clinical Learning Environment Review).
Dan E. Berkowitz, M.B.BCh, has been named chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine at the UAB School of Medicine. He comes to UAB after 25 years at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, where he currently serves as the vice-chair for research in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care.
On Saturday Sept. 29, The Harbert Center was transformed into a 1920s nightclub as the UAB Minority Health & Health Disparities Research Center (MHRC) Young Professionals Board presented Harlem in the ‘Ham, an event that benefiited Healthy Happy Kids.
On Saturday, Sept. 29, 19 SOM employees from the Dean’s Office participated in a local Habitat for Humanity build. Collectively, the group of individuals donated 75 hours of their time to the project.
Students in the School of Medicine will observe national Primary Care Week Oct. 1-5 with a week filled with student-driven lunch events to increase awareness of primary care needs in Alabama and across the country.
Page 1 of 199