Since its establishment in 2008, the UAB Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) has worked tirelessly to reduce the burden of disease and disparities in health outcomes that disproportionately affect the underserved minority and special (i.e., socioeconomically disadvantaged, rural) populations within our region.
Selwyn Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine, has been named president-elect of the American Surgical Association (ASA). The ASA was founded in 1880 and is the nation's oldest and most prestigious surgical organization.
The UAB School of Medicine Huntsville Regional Medical Campus hosted its second annual Research Day April 9. Huntsville campus students, residents and staff presented 51 posters and nine oral presentations of research abstracts and clinical vignettes.
Eight first-year medical students have been selected as recipients for the 2019 Medical Student Enrichment Program Scholarship. The chosen students will complete either the Social Medicine Elective at Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic (DR) or the Chung Shan Medical University Hospital Elective in Taichung, Taiwan.
In celebration of Women’s History Month, I want to reflect on some of the many ways women have impacted, shaped, and led our academic medical institution throughout the years. Since the medical school’s earliest days, women have played a vital role in its development and success.
The School of Medicine will celebrate Match Day 2019 on Friday, March 15, at the Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center. Members of the 2019 graduating class will learn which medical specialties they have “matched” into and where they will carry out their residency trainings.
During my recent State of the School address, I reviewed the progress and success that our school has experienced over the last five years. That advancement included a sharp increase of more than $100M in National Institutes of Health (NIH) research funding as well as other research funding, the expansion of educational programming, and growth in clinical care numbers.
Last month we discussed all the progress and success the School of Medicine has experienced over the past five years, and I remain deeply proud of all of you for your efforts in helping us reach so many significant goals. But the question now is how do we frame the next five years to produce even more accomplishments and growth?
On Friday, Nov. 16, MS1s Kara Kichler, Paris Malensek, Cassidy Baldwin and Steven Cochrun teamed up with MS4 David Osula and Harish Doppalapudi, M.D. to lead a cardiology workshop at George W. Carver High School. The instructional session concluded by teaching the students how to take a blood pressure reading.
Dan E. Berkowitz, M.B.BCh, has been named chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine at the UAB School of Medicine. He comes to UAB after 25 years at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, where he currently serves as the vice-chair for research in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care.
Page 4 of 128