woodworth website sizeInterim Chair
James J. Hicks Endowed Professor of Otolaryngology & Interim Chair
Adjunct Professor of Neurosurgery
Senior Scientist, Gregory Fleming James Cystic Fibrosis Research Center

Schedule Appointment: 205-801-7801 (option 1)

Administrative Support:
Laura Franks
P: 205-801-7918 | M: 205-801-7801 (option 3) | F: 205-801-7802 

Physical Address:
1155 Faculty Office Tower
510 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35233

Mailing Address:
FOT 1155
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294-3412

Clinic Address:
The Kirklin Clinic 2nd floor
2000 6th Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35233

Dr. Woodworth has been at UAB since 2008, specializing in the treatment of sinonasal and skull base disorders. He completed a fellowship in rhinology at the world renowned Division of Rhinology at the University of Pennsylvania. Along with Dr. Riley from the neurological surgery division, Dr. Woodworth leads the only multi-disciplinary minimally invasive skull base program in Alabama and northern Florida. Dr. Woodworth is an NIH funded researcher who has obtained over $3 million in grants investigating therapeutic interventions that enhance mucociliary clearance in both cystic fibrosis (where chronic rhinosinusitis is virtually universal) and non-cystic fibrosis chronic rhinosinusitis. In 2016, he was awarded a 5-year, $1.25m R01 grant from the NHLBI to continue his innovative research. He is also internationally recognized regarding his research on cerebrospinal fluid leak/skull base defect repair. He has published over 120 journal articles, 30 book chapters, and 2 Rhinology textbooks related to sinus and skull base disorders.

Board Certification

American Board of Otolaryngology, 2007

Clinical Expertise

  • Sinus and nasal medicine

  • Revision endoscopic sinus surgery

  • Skull base surgery

  • Endoscopic pituitary surgery

  • Endoscopic CSF leak repair

  • Minimally-invasive sinus cancer surgery

  • Frontal sinus surgery

  • Management of recalcitrant chronic sinusitis

Research Expertise

  • Minimally-invasive approaches to sinus and skull base tumors

  • Skull base repair

  • Spontaneous CSF leaks

  • Frontal sinus surgery

  • Topical medications for sinusitis

  • Novel therapeutics for chronic sinusitis

  • Sinonasal respiratory epithelial cell vectorial ion transport

  • Physiology of mucociliary clearance

  • Cystic Fibrosis

Medical School

Tulane University School of Medicine, 1999-2001

Postdoctoral Training

University of Pennsylvania, Rhinology & Sinus Surgery Fellowship, 2007
University of Pennsylvania, Rhinology Research Fellowship, 2006-2007
Medical University of South Carolina, Otolaryngology Residency, 2002-2006

Awards & Honors

  • 1993-1996 Williams College Dean's List

  • 1994-1996 Academic All-American (Wrestling)

  • 1997-1998 President, Tulane School of Medicine Class of 2001

  • 1999 C. Thorpe Ray Internal Medicine Award, awarded to the most outstanding student in the medicine clerkship

  • 2000 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society

  • 2001 Merck Manual Medical Book Award, for outstanding academic performance by a medical student

  • 2001 Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society

  • 2002 Applause Award, for providing quality service and patient care

  • 2004 Frances Lejeune Resident Research Award, Triological Society

  • 2004 Basic Science Research Award, American Academy of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

  • 2004 American Rhinologic Society 50th Anniversary Meeting Poster Award

  • 2005 Winner, MUSC Resident Research Competition

  • 2006 Resident Teaching Award, MUSC Department of Otolaryngology

  • 2006 MUSC Hospital-Wide Faculty Excellence in Training Award, given by MUSC's third-year medical students

  • 2006 Cottle Award Runner-up, American Rhinologic Society

  • 2010 Faculty Member of the Year, as voted by the residents, UAB Division of Otolaryngology

  • 2010-2015 Best Doctors in America

  • 2011 American Academy of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Honor Award

  • 2014 Young Physician Award, American Rhinologic Society

  • 2015 Edmund Prince Fowler Award for Triological Thesis, Triological Society

  • 2016 Cottle Award Runner-up, American Rhinologic Society

  • 2017 American Rhinologic Society (ARS) Basic Science Research Award

Selected Publications

View Here