Dr. Jason Hartig, Associate Professor for General and Pediatric Medicine has received an inaugural Robert A. Kreisberg Award for Faculty Development in Medical Education. 

Dr. Nefertiti Durant is the recipient of the 2010 MHRC Charles Barkely Excellence in Mentoring Award - this award recognizes faculty members who have provided outstanding mentoring and have contributed substantially to the career development and retention of students and scholars.

The Primary Care Clinic received an award for their coverage rate of two-year olds completely immunized in 2008 from the Alabama Department of Public Health Immunization Division.  This award is for Vaccines for Children program which was started in October 1994 by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA).

Grant Awards

Bonnie A. Spear, Pediatric Professor of Adolescent Medicine, has received notice that her Leadership Education in Adolescent Medicine (LEAH) Grant has been renewed through June 2017. Funding for the initial year will be in the amount of $316,267.  The grant is made possible by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

Children's Center for Weight Management (CCWM) - awarded a grant ($5,000)from the American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery.  Project Title - Healthy Kids at the YMCA

Dr. Myriam Peralta - A Medical Clinic for Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). $167,225 (2 years) from Foundation: Protective Life Clinical Initiatives

Editorial Boards

 Dr. Nefertiti Durant - Named to the Editorial Board of Childhood Obesity.

Recent Publications
Rare partnership with China gives adoptive families an advantage

Dr. Marsha Sturdevant
Lichtenstein B, Sturdevant M, and Mujumdar AA. “Psychosocial Stressors of Families Affected by HIV/AIDS: Implications for Social Work Practice” J HIVAIDS & Soc. Serv. 2010; 9 (2) 130-152.