2015 Residency Program Awards:
Quarterback Club Subspecialty Education: Dr. Brett Turner
Sergio Stagno Friend of the Housestaff: Dr. Candice Dye
Ralph Tiller Distinguished Faculty: Dr. Nancy Tofil
Michele St Romain Housestaff Award: Dr. Shelly Mercer
Joe LaRussa Interns of the Year Award: Megan Willis, M.D. and Charles Schlappi, M.D
2015 Polhill Award: Megan Willis, M.D.
Brown Kyle
The Pediatric Residency is pleased to announce the 2015-2016 Combined Internal Medicine/ Pediatrics Chief Resident will be Dr. Kyle Brown

Drs. Hugh Cheek, Adolfo Molina and Erinn Schmit
will serve as Pediatric Co-Chief Residents for the 2015-2016 academic year.
2016 17 Pediatric Co Chief Residents2.jpg
Drs. Courtney Campbell, Adam Hurst, and Christina Inman have been selected as Pediatric Co-Chief Residents for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Congratulations to our 2014 graduating residency class for having a 100 percent Board pass rate! The UAB Pediatrics Residency Program is proud of having a 100% percent Board pass rate for the last three years.

UAB Department of Pediatrics announces
outstanding 2015 Intern Class

Drs. Candice Dye and Lauren Nassetta have been named Pediatric Residency Assistant Program Directors.  With our growing number of residents, the ACGME requires that we appoint additional leadership faculty.  We are very excited about the addition of these faculty members and look forward to see what new initiatives they will bring into our program!   We will also be starting a new student education committee INSEP:  Innovations in Student Education in Pediatrics, chaired by Dr. Lauren Nassetta.  Please let Dr. Nassetta know if you are interested in joining this student education group.

2014 Resident Awards

    Quarterback Club Subspecialty Education Award - 
    Zachary LeBlanc, M.D.- Hematology/Oncology

    Sergio Stagno, M.D. Friend of the Housestaff Award -
    Amanda Soong, M.D.

    Ralph E. Tiller, M.D. Distinguished Faculty Award - 
    Amanda Soong, M.D.

   Michele St. Romain Housestaff Award -
   Megan Brennard, M.D.

   2013-2014 LaRussa Interns of the Year- 
   Christina Inman, M.D. and Adam Scott, M.D.

Former UAB Pediatric Resident, Maha A. Almuneef, M.D., Founder and Executive Director, National Family Safety Program, has been awarded the U.S. State Department Woman of Courage Award for her work to spread awareness about domestic violence and victims of child abuse. Dr. Almuneef is an advisor to the Shura Council in Saudi Arabia and a physician, she is a dedicated public advocate for survivors of domestic and sexual violence, shepherding new laws and policies through the Saudi system. She not only worked with hospitals to change protocols for victims of rape and abuse, but helped to create new police procedures for handling cases as well as special training programs for medical personnel and law enforcement. 
Dr. Al Muneef was recently interviewed for the UAB Medicine Magazine.  To read the article, click here.

Dr. J.R. Hartig, Associate Professor and MedPeds Residency Program Director, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the UAB President Award for Excellence in Teaching. Pediatrics congratulates him on achieving such exceptional excellence as an educator!