Residency News

  • IMG 1604300Congratulations to Claire Keith, M.D., Pediatric PGY-3, on winning the 2018 Quality Improvement Project Award for her project titled Use of Quality Improvement Process to increase influenza Vaccination in Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease Patients. Her mentor on this project was Traci Jester, M.D., Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition.

    Pictured L to R: Drs. Susan Walley, Claire Keith and Traci Jester


    Congratulations to the recipients of the 2018-2019 Founder's Fund Grants!

    The Founders' Fund was established by the UAB Department of Pediatrics to honor the exceptional lifetime achievements of the founders Drs. John W. "Bill" Benton, Ralph E. Tiller and Paul A. Palmisano. For more than a decade, the Founders' Fund has been used to encourge and support educational edeavors in the Pediatric Residency Program through educational grants. These educational grants support new, innovative educational research or programs related to the curriculum or quality and outcomes research of the residency program.

    11 Founders' Fund Awards were given this year:

    Principal Investigator and Project Titles

    Emily Bufkin, M.D.Creating a Medical Home for Children with Medical Complexity within Primary Care Clinic.

    Eunice Dixon, M.D.Infant Safe Sleep QI: Exit Counseling to Reduce Unsafe Sleep Habits.

    Austin Doss, M.D.Procedural Competence in Pediatric Residents.

    Eric Jorge, M.D.Improving Firearm Safety Counseling in Primary Care Clinic.

    Will Sasser, M.D.Introduction of an Ultrasound Fundamentals Training Session to the Pediatric Intensive Care Education Curriculum Supplemented with a Vascular Access
    Training Model.

    Kristyn Jeffries, M.D.All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Injury Prevention through Education in Schools.

    Sai Surapa-Raju, M.D.Teaching residents Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) cardiac arrest guidelines using Rapid Cycle Deliberate Practice (RCDP).

    Rashmi Patil, M.D.Baby Shower for Young Mothers Program.

    Kristyn Jeffries, M.D.Pediatric Research Academic Program (Pediatric RAP).

    Candice Dye, M.D.Use of Mental Health Simulation to Improve Pediatric Primary Care, Resident Reflection on Suicide Prevention, and Development of Support Groups.

    Michele Nichols, M.D.Spanish Class for Residents.

  • D.WindlerThe Primary Care Extra Mile Award winner for this quarter is David Windler, M.D., PGY-3 Med/Peds Resident. The following was Dr. Windler's nomination from colleagues in Primary Care Clinic:

    "A severely autistic child came in for her depo and Tdap shots. She was very agitated on this particular day, and staff had a hard time even getting her into the room. When it came time for her shots, Dr. Windler immediately volunteered. He stayed in the room until family and staff were able to come up with a safe plan for administering her shots. The mom was distressed, and he was calm and reassuring with both the family and staff. Thank you for your positive attitude and teamwork, Dr. Windler!"

  • DrWilliamSasser SDM 3243The Pediatric Residency Program is excited to announce that Will Sasser, M.D., Pediatric Critical Care, will be joining the program as an Assistant Program Director as of July 1, 2018.

    When asked about his new role, Dr. Sasser said "I'm thrilled about the opportunity to work more closely with our residents alongside faculty and staff that have meant so much to me as a trainee and junior faculty member."

    Dr. Sasser joins Michele Nichols, M.D., Program Director, Nancy Tofil, M.D., Senior Associate Program Director, Candice Dye, M.D., Associate Program Director, and Lauren Nassetta, M.D., Associate Program Director as leadership of the program. 

    Prior to this role with the Residency Program, Dr. Sasser served as the Director of the Acting Internship and Elective Program with the Pediatric Clerkship. He attended the Medical University of South Carolina for medical school and completed both his pediatric residency and pediatric critical care fellowship at UAB. 

  • 2018gradpic

    Below is what our graduates will be doing after residency:

    Baani Bawa, M.D.- Hospital Medicine, Nashville, TN
    Megan E. Boothe, M.D. - Genetics Fellowship, UAB, 
    John Mark Bouchillon, M.D. - 2018-2019 Chief Resident, UAB, 
    Stephen T. Clark, M.D. - Pediatric Cardiology Fellowship, UAB, 
    Adam W. Cohen, M.D.- Pediatric Gastroenterology Fellowship, UAB, 
    Orlando Esparza, M.D.-  Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship, University of Colorado
    Anna L. Hoppmann, M.D.- Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship, UAB
    Claire S. Keith, M.D.-  Gastroenterology Instructor followed by Pediatric GI Fellowship, UAB 
    Angela J. King, M.D.- General Pediatrics, Clinical Instructor, UAB, Birmingham, AL
    Tiffany D. Moore, M.D.-General Pediatrics, Acton Road, Birmingham, AL
    Anastasia T. Nelson, M.D.- General Pediatrics, Tots n Teens, Trussville, AL
    Jamie L. Powell, M.D.-General Pediatrics, Mayfield Medical Group, Homewood, AL
    Robert D. Sellers, IV, M.D.-2018-2019 Chief Resident, UAB
    Mary E. Silverberg, M.D.-Research at UAB, Pursuing NICU Fellowship
    Karlene D. Walker, M.D.-2018-2019 Chief Resident, UAB, Birmingham, AL        
    Carter D. Wallace, M.D.-Gastroenterology Instructor followed by Pediatric GI Fellowship, UAB
    Timothy A. Wang, M.D. -Neonatology Fellowship, Cincinnati Children's
    Anna P. White, M.D.-General Pediatrics, Health Department, Birmingham, AL
    Sara E. Williams, M.D.-Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics Fellowship, University of Colorado
    Andrea M. Wolf, M.D.- General Pediatrics, Dallas, TX
    Taylor A. Woodfin, M.D.-Pediatric Gastroenterology Fellowship, UAB
    Sarah E. Bagwell, M.D.-General Medicine/Pediatrics, UAB, Gardendale, AL
    K. Shannon Booker, M.D.- Medicine/Pediatrics Hospitalist, Minneapolis, MN
    Sarah E. Bragg, M.D.- General Medicine/Pediatrics, UAB, Leeds, AL
    Teresa B. Cornelius, M.D.-Medicine/Pediatrics, Hospitalist, UAB
    Sarah Joy Dean, M.D.-Medical Biochemical Genetics Fellowship, UAB                                                            

    2017-2018 CHIEF RESIDENTS
    Bryauna S. Lewis, M.D.
    -General Pediatrics, Christ Health Center, Birmingham, AL
    T. Spencer Poore, M.D.- Pediatric Pulmonary Fellowship, University of Colorado
    Michelle Udine, M.D.- Pediatric Cardiology Fellowship, Children’s National

  • The 2018 graduating class presented the following awards at their Graduation Banquet on Friday, June 1. 

    Michele St. Romain Award

    Robert D. Sellers IV, M.D.


    This award recognizes a graduating resident with the finest qualities of a pediatrician: enthusiasm, compassion, and dedication to the care of children. 

     Ralph E. Tiller, M.D. Distinguished Faculty Award

     Morissa Ladinsky, M.D., Academic General Pediatrics and Christiana Cochran, M.D., Pediatric Emergency Medicine


    This award recognizes a faculty member who has contributed the most to overall education and training. 

    Sergio Stagno, M.D. Friend of the Housestaff Award

    Morissa Ladinsky, M.D. 


    This award recognizes an individual demonstrating a strong commitment to resident education and quality of life. 

    Quarterback Subspecialty Education Award

    Lydia Marcus, M.D.-Child Neurology Fellow


    This award recognizes a selected fellow’s contributions to resident education. 

    Best Teaching Rotation Award



    This award recognizes the rotation that is viewed to be the best teaching rotation by the graduating class. 

  • internoftheyearCongratulations to Rachel Calhoun, M.D. and Brooke Goar, M.D. for winning the Joe LaRussa Intern of the Year Award!