Welcome to the UAB Division of Neonatology

(205) 934-4680

Link to Neonatal Division Brochure
2014 Neonatology Outcomes Booklet

2014 Neonatal Conference - was held August 1, 2014.  Brochure is still accessible from link.

The American Academy of Pediatrics has announced that the 2012 winner of The Virginia Apgar Award is Dr. Wally Carlo, Director of Neonatology and Edwin M. Dixon Professor of Pediatrics at UAB.  Dr. Apgar was Professor of Anesthesiology and developer of the Apgar score which is assigned to babies worldwide to document the status at birth. The award is the highest award given by the Section on Perinatal Pediatrics of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The award is given annually to an individual from any field of medicine and any country whose career has had a continuing influence on the well-being of newborn infants.  Dr. Carlo is being recognized for having played a leading role in many advances in neonatal-perinatal medicine during the last three decades and in establishing the current guidelines for neonatal care in the US and worldwide. The award will be given during the 2012 American Academy of Pediatrics National Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans, LA on October 20, 2012.  As the recipient, Dr. Carlo will open the plenary session of the 2013 American Academy of Pediatrics Spring Meeting as the Butterfield Lecturer.  For more information, please click here.