Whitley Richard 2016forWEBRichard Whitley, M.D., professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases, has been named the recipient of the 2020-2021 Rotary Vocational Service Award by the Rotary Club of Birmingham. This award is given each year to a non-Rotarian person in recognition of excellence in a vocational service that is recognized beyond the territory of the club.

McDonald Scholar 2021Top L to R: Claire Cordes, Meg Ingram, Jennifer Joseph, ​​​Dan McNeill, and Grace SpearsThe McDonald Scholars Program will place selected PGII-IV residents in an established rural and/or underserved pediatric practice in Alabama for an immersive experience as an observer and patient caregiver coordinated by Dr. Candice Dye.

HealthEquity Scholars 2021Top L to R: Justin Bailey, Austin Oslock, Lauren Rosati, Jasmine Capers, Tanzeh Metzger, Destini Smith, Brad Fancher, and Vida LaudarjiThe Health Equities Scholars Program was established to educate residents on how to lead advances in child health equity and develop skills in communication, scholarship, and advocacy through a two-year longitudinal curriculum led by Drs. Chrystal Rutledge, Tina Simpson, and Morissa Ladinsky. 

AshworthAward2021WEBAubrey Coleman, M.D., PGY-3 Resident, is this year’s recipient of the Carolyn Ashworth, M.D. Pediatric Primary Care Award.

StaplesFYIFCongratulations to Anthony Staples, D.O., graduating Sleep Medicine Fellow, for his outstanding performance on the sleep medicine in-service exam.

Res Grad Award 2021 WEB ImageThe 2021 graduating class presented the following awards at their Graduation Banquet on Friday, June 4.

Nassetta Lauren wo coatforWEBLauren Nassetta, M.D., associate professor in the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine, has been named the director of the Professional Development Office (PDO). Her role as director became effective June 1, 2021.  

PRIME Scholar2021 WEBTop L to R: Andrew Barbera, Josh Bell, Charli Cohen, Alex Davis, Andrew Donahue, Aaron Fan, Sarah Fleisher, Isabella Masler, Susmita Murthy, Kelsey Thetford, Kevin Wall and Emily YoungbloodThe Pediatric Residents Interested in Medical Education (PRIME) Scholars Program is excited to announce its second class of scholars! PRIME Scholars is a longitudinal learning experience designed to provide pediatric residents with skills and knowledge to become excellent medical educators. Below are the 2021-2022 PRIME Scholars:

PUGH Scholars 2021 copyL to R: Abby Davidson, David Taylor, Beth Vaughn, Kelsey Thetford, Amelia Schuyler and Kalli VincentThe Pediatric Underserved and Global Health Scholars (PUGHS) Program is a unique opportunity for pediatric residents to gain experience and focused education in global health during the three years of residency training. We are excited to announce our inaugural group of PUGH Scholars.


Congratulations to our UAB Pediatric Fellowship Class of 2021. Thank you to all who helped us celebrate the graduates at a reception in their honor on May 20th.

Please see below where they will be going after completing fellowship training.