BHM PIONEERS HEADSHOTSLast Thursday, the Department of Pediatrics hosted the inaugural UAB Pioneers in Pediatrics: Celebrating Black History Month. This event was created as a way to celebrate Black History Month and to provide an opportunity to learn about the history of diversity in the department and ways we can improve diversity, equity and inclusion. A few pioneers in the UAB Department of Pediatrics, Paul Amamoo, M.D., Derrol Dawkins, M.D., and Iris Fancher, M.D., participated in a panel discussion facilitated by Brian Sims, M.D., associate professor in the Division of Neonatology, Tamera Coyne-Beasley, M.D., professor in the Division of Adolescent Medicine, and Tina Simpson, M.D., professor in the Division of Adolescent Medicine.

PURIM 2021 WebImageThe Jewish holiday of Purim began last night and concludes tonight.

2021 AOA INDUCTEES WEBTop row L to R: Drs. Nitin Arora, Randy Cron and Pallavi Iyer. Bottom row L to R: Drs. Andy Marshall, Joe Philips and Ryan SheetsSix members of the Department of Pediatrics were elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society.

Rutledge HeadshotUSETHISONEWEBChrystal Rutledge, M.D., associate professor in the Division of Pediatric Critical Care, was named one of two recipients of the inaugural Professional Excellence Award. This award was created by the UAB School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion (ODI) to honor underrepresented in medicine (URiM) faculty who have demonstrated excellence in their careers.

KPRI 2021 WEBIMAGETop left to right: Drs. Bill Britt, Randy Cron, Pallavi Iyer, Viral Jain, Claudette Poole, Brandon Rocque, Emily Smitherman and Kent WillisChildren’s of Alabama and the Kaul Pediatric Research Institute (KPRI) are pleased to announce the 2021 awards. The major goal of the KPRI grant program is to allow investigators to obtain data that will advantage applications for additional extramural funding. This will bring new knowledge to the care of children, leverage the investment of the KPRI, and allow projects to be competitive for the very best science on the national stage. A second, but important, goal is to ensure that a dedicated funding source is available to unique segments of the pediatric research, education, and quality improvement enterprise.

steinFYIFCarlie Stein, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, has recently been named program director for the UAB Combined Internal Medicine/Pediatric Residency Program. Dr. Stein takes over for J.R. Hartig, M.D., associate professor in the Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Academic General Pediatrics, who has served as program director of the residency program for over 15 years.

SalasAriel2020 WEBAriel Salas, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Neonatology, has been selected as Pittman Scholar in the UAB School of Medicine. This esteemed group was created to honor the legacy of Dr. James A. Pittman, Jr., the longest-serving dean in our School’s history.

Chief Resident Announcement FYIFThe UAB Pediatric Residency Program is honored to name Gabe Daniels, M.D., Vida Laudarji, M.D., and Kalli Vincent, M.D., as the Pediatric Chief Residents for the 2022-2023 academic year.

FriendoftheEDLeft to right: Kathy Monroe, M.D., Shaundra Blakemore M.D., Katie Thierer, LMSW, and Beth Clark, BSN, MBAKatie Thierer, LMSW, has received the Friend of the ED Award for exceptional service to the Children's of Alabama Emergency Department patients. Katie has gone above and beyond to provide expert social service care for our patients. 

APS Top Articles 2020 WEBWally Carlo, M.D., professor in the Division of Neonatology, and David Kimberlin, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, were among those featured in the Top Articles of 2020 curated by the American Pediatric Society (APS). At the conclusion of the year, the APS gathered a list of the most accessed articles from 2020 and sent the list out to members.