stagno sergio 2008Sergio Stagno, M.D., former chair of the Department of Pediatrics, was named the 2015 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, the highest honor bestowed by the UAB academic health center. There will be a Distinguished Faculty Lecturer reception held in Dr. Stagno's honor in December, where he will be the keynote speaker.

Dr. Stagno’s contributions to pediatric infectious diseases have dramatically advanced our understanding and treatment of a number of viral infections and have also brought recognition to Children’s of Alabama, the UAB Department of Pediatrics and to UAB as a whole. His work as an outstanding educator, “friend of the residents,” as well as his scientific accomplishments make him a perfect choice for this award. 

To be eligible for this annual award, an individual must be a faculty member who has:

  • Advanced the frontiers of science or otherwise made a significant contribution to the health of people, or
  • Made an outstanding contribution to the Academic Health Center through education, research, or public service.
Dr. Stagno has done it all! Congratulations to Dr. Stagno on this well-deserved recognition!
SUPERHERO CollageClick here to visit the photo gallery from Wednesday's superhero visit at Children's of Alabama. The superhero window washers visit is part of “Superhero Month” at Children's. Children’s and Books-A-Million Inc., invite the community to participate in all the month’s activities via social media. Current and past patients and families all over the state are encouraged to submit their stories to a new microsite,, or via social media using the hashtag ‪#thepowerofChildrensAL‬.
Glaeser ED Lifetime AchievementPeter Glaeser, M.D. received the 2015 Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing a lifetime of commitment and contributions to Emergency Medical Services (EMS). The award is the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT)’s most prestigious award.

The presentation in Las Vegas, NV., was made on Sept. 16 during NAEMT’s General Membership Meeting. To read the news release which details some of Dr. Glaeser's achievements, click here
JillingCongratulations to Tamas Jilling, M.D. (Neonatology) on his R21, PI award with Sadis Matalon, Ph.D., for their study, “Mechanisms and Countermeasures of Halogen-induced Injury to Pregnant Mice,” in the amount of $701,926 for the period 9/30/2015 – 8/31/2017.
AAPThe Alabama chapter of American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) held an awards dinner on Saturday, Sept. 26. The awards were presented to the following:


  • 2015 Legislative Heroes: Alabama Senator Steve Livingston and Alabama Representative Tommy Hanes. 
  • Chapter Awards and Recognition: E. Cason Benton, MD, FAAP, David Kimberlin, MD, FAAP, J. Rian Anglin, MD, FAAP, and Graham Champion.
  • Carden Johnston Leadership AwardJames Conrad Wiley, MD, FAAP
  • 2016 Master Pediatrician Award: Maurice Dennis, Jr. MD, FAAP
  • 2015 Wallace Alexander Clyde Distinguished Service Award for Excellence in Pediatrics: David B. Joseph, MD, FAAP, FACS

To view the Awards Dinner program, which includes descriptions of the awards, click here. Congratulations and many thanks to those recognized for striving toward optimal health and well-being for all children in Alabama.
CarloWally Carlo, M.D., is a Southern Society for Pediatric Research (SSPR) Founders Award recipient for 2016. He is being recognized for his work in promoting the SSPR and research in pediatric health. Dr. Carlo will be honored at the February 19 meeting in New Orleans.
pulmonologyPediatric Pulmonology at Children’s of Alabama and UAB was recently selected as a recipient of the annual Quality Care Aware by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation (CFF).
To view the press release regarding the award, click here
f3df6a06 3e81 44e7 9aad 9e03c6fc492dRandy Cron, M.D., has been selected to serve on the Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) Fellows Basic Research Awards Selection Committee. The Society for Pediatric Research annually honors students, house officers and fellows engaged in pediatric research. These awards are designed to encourage pediatricians in training to pursue careers in academic pediatrics. Winning candidates are selected by a committee from the Society for Pediatric Research based on the quality of the work presented in the abstract. Dr. Cron's term with run for three years; ending in May 2018. 
29fc66e9 8799 4c1e aa89 36279cb72258It's the middle of recruitment season! Take time to learn more about our fellowship programs by viewing the information booklet here. It includes an overview of each of the pediatric fellowship programs, statistics, benefits and more!  
Three 2nd year pediatric residents, Bryana Lewis, M.D.Karisa Grizzle, M.D., and Brett LaBrecque, M.D., were featured in the monthly YMCA Community Impact Report. View the report here. Each of the residents share medical presentations with students in local high and middle schools and give advice to aspiring medical professionals.