The Child Health Research Unit (CHRU) was developed to make it easier for investigators to conduct scientifically rigorous clinical and translational research in childhood diseases. To meet the growing needs of our pediatric researchers, a new and expanded CHRU will open soon on the third floor of Dearth Towers. Join us at the open house on Friday, May 12 from 1 - 3 p.m.

Come see how it can help you improve the health of the children of Alabama.

For more information, visit
View the press release.
As a young nurse floating among assignments at Children’s Hospital of Orange County in Southern California in the mid 1980s, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing Associate Professor Wendy Landier, PhD, RN, often found herself working the pediatric oncology unit when others wouldn’t.

The more Landier worked there and saw the interactions among the nurses, their young patients and the families, the more she grew to love it. 

Continue reading the story highlighting Wendy Landier, Ph.D., RN, Pediatric Hematology & Oncology, on the UAB School of Nursing websitePhotos courtesy of UAB School of Nursing.
Child abuse is a serious and prevalent public health problem throughout the United States including Alabama. In 2015, there were 21,722 reports made to the Alabama Department of Human Resources (DHR) involving 30,647 children1. After investigation, 8,466 children were determined to be child abuse victims. With an overall population of just over 4.8 million and 1.1 million children under 18, this amounted to nearly 3% of Alabama’s children being involved in investigations and 1% determined to be victims of child abuse for that year. Child abuse is divided into four categories: physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, & psychological (emotional) abuse. The health consequences for abused children are substantial, including short term risks such as physical injuries (fractures, bruising, lacerations, abdominal injury, head trauma), sexually transmitted infections, pregnancy, mental health problems (anxiety, fear, depression), and death. In 2015, there were 1,670 deaths due to child abuse in the US, 13 of those deaths occurred in Alabama. The long-term consequences of child abuse in adults include significant increases in substance abuse, depression, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, cancer, and premature mortality. The financial cost to society is substantial, estimated at $2.3 billion annually (2013 dollars) in Alabama alone2. 
Every April, the Children's Bureau of the US Department of Health & Human Services observes National Child Abuse Prevention Month “to raise public awareness of child abuse and neglect, recommit efforts and resources aimed at protecting children and strengthening families, and promote community involvement through activities that support the cause.” Children’s of Alabama and the CHIPS Center stay busy all month in an effort to increase awareness of this common and serious public health problem affecting all aspects of society, but most especially, our children. Some of the many activities planned for the month include: awareness in the hospital, handing out posters to local school systems, participating in Child Fun Day, and cosponsoring the International Association of Forensic Nurses-Alabama Chapter annual conference. For more information on National Child Abuse Prevention Month, visit the National Child Abuse Prevention Month website.

Michael A. Taylor, M.D.
Click here for references
Attending the Pediatric Academic Societies meeting in San Francisco? You're invited to join Children's of Alabama and UAB Department of Pediatrics on Saturday, May 6 at 6 p.m. in the Hilton San Francisco, Union Square. Mark your calendars and invite your friends! 

Download the invitation.
Maaike Everts, Ph.D., Pediatric Infectious Disease has been named as the recipient of the International Society for Antiviral Research William Prusoff Young Investigator Lecture Award. This award is given to outstanding young scientists who have demonstrated dedication and excellence in the field of antiviral research and future potential for contribution to the field and the society. Dr. Everts will receive the award at the upcoming 30th International Conference on Antiviral Research (ICAR) in Atlanta, GA in May. 
The UAB Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) recently acknowledged Department of Pediatrics (DOP) members who participated in the CCTS Panels Done Quickly (PDQ)/ Nascent Panel Project (NPP) team this past year. 

PDQs and NPPs provide investigators across the UAB Campus and throughout the CCTS Partner Network with expert feedback during a critical window of grant development - within 6 weeks of an application deadline. Reviewing proposals at this stage requires an agile, highly focused response that is only possible with the involvement of accomplished scientists. Those who participated from the Pediatrics include: Drs. Namasivayam Ambalavanan, Randy Cron, Maaike Everts, Tom Harris, Ken McCormick, and Matthew Stoll.

Thank you for your participation! 
Children’s of Alabama and the UAB Pediatrics Residency Program will host the 11th annual Spring Scramble 5K on Saturday, April 22. The 5K begins at 5:30 p.m. at the Levite Jewish Community Center, followed by a Fun Run at 6:30 p.m.
The registration fee is $20 for UAB and Children’s employees; $25 for the general public and free for children under 12 with an adult entry. The registration fee covers a 5K T-shirt and goodie bag. To register, visit
Rachael Tindell, M.D., second year fellow in Neonatology, was recently selected for the PAS Travel Awards Program for Young Investigator's. The award supports travel to the Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA, on May 6 - 9. Her work is establishing the importance of adequate selenium content for activation of antioxidant responses by thioredoxin reductase inhibitors in pulmonary epithelia. For information on this award, click  here.
The Benevolent Fund, has supported our community and UAB employees in need for 32 years. UAB employees are able to give by continuous payroll deduction, one-time payroll deduction, check donation, or stock/dividend transfer. Your gift can be designated to as many as three programs from over 130 partnering non-profits.See the list of new nonprofits added this year. Undesignated funds support the Employee Emergency Assistance Program and United Way of Central Alabama Agency Grants. 

This year the overall campaign goal is to raise $2.1 million. The 2017 School of Medicine goal is to raise $500,000. Help us reach our goal by giving where you live, work and play. 

The UAB 2017 Benevolent Fund Medicine campaign runs through April 30. Sara Davies is the Department Representative. Please contact her with questions. 
Give today!
David Galloway, M.D., Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition,  and Megan V. Yanik,  M.D., Pediatric Nephrology Fellow, recently completed the Clinical Investigator Training Program (CITP). The CITP is designed to be a hands-on didactic and pragmatic training and education program to prepare young investigators in the conduct and implementation of human subject research. The general outline of the program was not only to review the key topics of designing, preparing, conducting and overseeing a clinical trial, but also navigating UAB’s regulatory and research support infrastructure.