Chief2024WEBL to R: Justin Bailey, Susmita Murthy and David TaylorIt is our honor to announce the selection of Justin Bailey, M.D., PGY-2 pediatric resident, Susmita Murthy, M.D., PGY-3 med-peds resident, and David Taylor, M.D., PGY-2 pediatric resident, as the co-chief residents for the Pediatric Residency Program for the 2024-2025 academic year. 

FoundersFundImageWEBWe are pleased to announce the 2022-2023 Founders' Fund recipients.

Critical determinants of children's health and well-being are rooted in socioecological and behavioral factors that are beyond the typical purview of the health care system. To adequately address health, pediatricians must unpack these through the lens of child health equity. 

The Global Health Interest Group has met six times over the academic year, beginning in July with an introductory talk on global health as an overview to all residents interested in global health.

MicrosoftTeams image 18 copyL to R: Justin Bailey and David TaylorJustin Bailey, M.D., and David Taylor, M.D., were named the 2022 Joe LaRussa Interns of the Year.

AshworthAwardphoto2022WEBL to R: Candice Dye and Claire CordesClaire Cordes, M.D., a 2022 UAB Pediatric resident graduate, is this year’s recipient of the the Carolyn Ashworth, M.D. Pediatric Primary Care Award.

FYI StagnoLectureWEBL to R: McGee Hopper, Sergio Stagno and Emily PoindexterThe Pediatric Residency Program was honored to have Sergio Stagno, M.D., professor emeritus, give the annual “Last Lecture” on June 15th. Each year, chief residents select a speaker whom they feel has significantly impacted their education and development in residency.

ResidentEducator2022WEBTop L to R: James Dunville, Chloe Meyer Braun, Andrew Donahue, Natalie Soyster and David TaylorThe winners of the Resident Educator Award are recognized for their time and dedication to educating medical students during their Pediatric rotations. The award is voted on by each medical student throughout the year at the conclusion of their pediatric rotation.  

WaltJohnsonAward2022WEBThe Walt “The Rock” Johnson Award is given to the resident(s) with the highest cumulative score in the monthly Walt “The Rock” Johnson quiz. Congratulations to the 2022 winners: 

Samuy Nichole 2012WEBThe Med-Peds Impact Award was started by the graduating class of 2021 to recognize a faculty member in each of internal medicine, pediatrics, and med-peds who most significantly impacted training as clinicians and educators.