Explore UAB

Physician Scientist Development Office

Picture of campus

Physician Scientist Development Office

Dale J BenosDale J. Benos (1950-2010) received his Ph.D. in Physiology and Pharmacology at Duke University in 1976 under the mentorship of Daniel Tosteson, M.D.  He served on the faculty of Harvard Medical School from 1978- 1985. Dr. Benos was recruited to UAB in 1985, and assumed the position of chairman of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics in 1996. Dr. Benos held secondary appointments in the departments of cell biology and neurobiology. In 2008, he was named UAB's first holder of the University of Alabama Health Services Foundation Endowed Chair in Biomedical Research.

Dr. Benos' research focused on epithelial sodium transport, cystic fibrosis, malignant brain tumors, and the cognitive issues that arise in AIDS patients. He authored more than 200 research articles, edited four books, and served on the editorial boards of multiple journals. Dr. Benos was president of the American Physiological Society from 2006 to 2007. 

An inspirational and much loved lecturer, Dr. Benos was a recipient of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching. He believed in the importance of fostering an understanding and appreciation of research during the education of medical students. Dr. Benos established the M.D./M.S. program and served as director for the NIH funded T35 Short Term Training Program at UAB. Dale Benos championed Medical Student Research Day as a forum to celebrate the students' research accomplishments. Thus, it is fitting that Medical Student Research Day be named in his memory.