Fargason RachelThe University Of Alabama System Board Of Trustees appointed Dr. Rachel E. Fargason, Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Services in the Department of Psychiatry, to the Patrick H. Linton Professorship in Psychiatry.

Dr. Fargason, Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Services in the Department of Psychiatry, joined UAB in 1993. A dedicated clinician, educator and exceptional leader, she is recognized for her clinical accomplishments across the department, UAB Medicine and throughout the state. Since 2013, she has held multiple clinical leadership roles during which she has been highly instrumental in transforming clinical services within the Department of Psychiatry to meet the ever growing demand at UAB and the community for mental health care.  She serves as Medical Quality Officer for Psychiatric Services for UAB Medicine where she continues to work tirelessly to expand and improve clinical services not only within the department but across UAB Medicine.Dr. Fargason remains an active clinician, treating psychiatric patients across the life-span and is well-known as an expert in adult ADHD. In addition to her clinical work she operates multiple general practice teaching clinics for residents, and overseeing a team of ambulatory nurse practitioners in the spirit of expanding outpatient access.

Dr. Fargason earned her medical degree from the University of Maryland in 1987 before moving to Illinois to begin post graduate training. She subsequently transferred to UAB to complete her psychiatry residency and in 1993 she joined the faculty as Assistant Professor. Her dedication and achievements, both academic and clinical, paved the way for her succession through the academic ranks, first as Associate Professor in 2002 and subsequently her promotion to Professor in 2013.

“Dr. Fargason’s excellence as our departmental clinical leader in her role as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, and the broader respect that she enjoys throughout the institutional clinical enterprise, makes her an exceptional appointee to the Linton Professorship in the Department of Psychiatry,” said Dr. Meador-Woodruff, Heman E. Drummond Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry.

 The Patrick H. Linton Endowed Professorship was established in honor of Dr. Linton, a longstanding faculty member and chair of the Department of Psychiatry. This Professorship has historically been held by a senior leader in our departmental clinical mission to honor the clinical growth and accomplishments of Dr. Linton during his 20 year tenure as chair of Psychiatry.