Clanton, Nicholas
Samford University
Major: Biochemistry and Chemistry
Project: The Role of Non-Canonical Translation in Proliferation and Survival of Triple-Negative Breast Cancer
Mentor: Sunnie Thompson (sunnie@uab.edu)

French, Katelyn
College of Wooster
Major: Mathematics
Project: Distribution of clinical features and laboratory characteristics in multiple myeloma patients with and without light chain restricted disease
Mentor: Elizabeth E. Brown (elbrown@uab.edu)

Hedaya, Alexander
University of Georgia
Major: Biology
Project: Neuronal Activity and NBCe1 Stimulation Elicit Distinct Changes in Extracellular pH and Presynaptic pH of the Rat Hippocampus
Mentor: Mark Bevensee (bevensee@uab.edu )

Kulman, Dan
Cleveland State University
Major: Biology
Project: The Effector Domain of Myristoylated Alanine-rich C-Kinase Substrate is Required for its Nuclear Localization in Glioblastoma Multiforme
Mentor: Christopher Willey (cwilley@uab.edu )

LaMagna, Sam
CUNY Queens College
Major: Neuroscience
Project: Purification of ABCA4 for X-Ray Crystallographic Structural Studies
Mentor: Alecia Gross (agross@uab.edu )

Luft, Marissa
Ball State University
Major: Biochemistry
Project: Exploring the Novel Surface of GBS GAPDH: Structure-Functional Analysis of the Q306T Mutant
Mentor: Dabasish Chattopadhyay (debasish@uab.edu )

Moore, Megan
University of Tennessee – Knoxville
Major: Animal Science - Bioscience
Project: ATG Dose Responses in Type II Murine Lung Epithelial Cells
Mentor: Trent Tipple (ttipple@uab.edu )

Moraczewki, Jason
University of Georgia
Major: Biology and Psychology
Project: PDLIM3 a Regulator of Glycolytic and Oxidative Skeletal Muscle
Mentor: Glenn Rowe (gcrowe@uab.edu )

Pham-Hua, Duyen
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Major: Biochemistry
Project: TA/PVPON-containing nanothin coatings can suppress pro-inflammatory chemokine synthesis and potentially elicit islet transplant survival
Mentor: Hubert Tse (htse@uab.edu )

Pound, Ilya
Hendrix College
Major: Biochemistry/Molecular Biology
Project: Investigation of mechanistic differences between gemcitabine and cytarabine through analysis of gene-drug interactions in S. cerevisiae
Mentor: John Hartman (jhartman@uab.edu )

Rhynes, Summer
Birmingham Southern College
Major: Biology
Project: The Developmental Expression of Protective Intestinal Antibody Localization
Mentor: Colin Martin (Colin.Martin@childrensal.org )

Robbins, Cason
Mississippi College
Major: Biology/Medical Sciences & Chemistry
Project: Effects of PGC-1α Deletion in Pyramidal Neurons on Memory
Mentor: Rita Cowell (rcowell@uab.edu )

Sams, David
Western Kentucky University
Major:  Biology
Project: Regulation of Myocardial Fatty Acid Oxidation by the Cardiomyocyte Circadian Clock: Potential Role of Biotinylation
Mentor: Martin Young (meyoung@uab.edu )

Wani, Mashhood
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Major: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Project: Physiological estrogens exert opposing effects on heart rate in zebrafish embryos
Mentor: Dan Gorelick (danielg@uab.edu )


SIBS-UPS - Undergraduate Pathology Scholars 2015

Bolus, Daniel
Tulane University
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Project: Effect of Heat-Shock Stress on Cell Proliferation and Differentiation of Myoblasts in vitro
Mentor: Raj Soorappan (rajnsr@uab.edu )

Hudaib, Sami
Georgia Gwinnett College
Major: Biochemistry
Project: Multiple Myeloma Immune System Evasion and Bone microenvironment manipulation due to varying expressions of Runx2 in Murine Models
Mentor: Yang Yang (yangyang@uab.edu )

Lena, Umme
Mount Holyoke College
Major: Biology and English
Project: Examination of diurnal rhythms in alcoholic metabolism enzymes of mice with altered circadian clocks
Mentor: Shannon Bailey (sbailey@uab.edu )

Milligan, Emily
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Major: Neuroscience
Project: Investigating the Regulation of αsyn Clearance by αGal A in Parkinson Disease
Mentor: John Shacka (shacka@uab.edu )

Williams, Austin
Birmingham Southern College
Major: Chemistry
Project: Investigation of Hemoglobin Degradation and Subsequent Heme Release Mechanisms by Oxidative Stress Using Spectral Deconvolution
Mentor: Rakesh Patel (rakeshp@uab.edu )