Abdo, Yasmeen

University of Mississippi, Oxford, MS
Major:  Biochemistry
Project: Oncogenic Potential of Somatic Mutations in Splicing Factor ZC3H11A
Mentor: Akinyemi Ojesina (ojesina@uab.edu)

Branscomb, Rachael
Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH
Major:  Biology
Project: Prolactin receptor signaling in the pancreatic β-cell: The role of STAT5
Mentor: Ronadip Banerjee (ronadip@uab.edu)

Dyer, Elizabeth
St. Francis University, Loretto, PA
Major:  Chemistry
Project: Understanding the Role and Relationship of IL10 and ICOSL in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases
Mentor: Craig Maynard (clmaynard@uab.edu)

Eastep, Gunnar
University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Major:  Chemistry
Project: Elucidating the Specificity of ASV Matrix Binding to Plasma Membrane Constituent
Mentor: Jamil Saad (saad@uab.edu)

Hale, Kaelee
Rocky Mountain College, Billings, MT
Major:  Biology, Chemistry
Project: Rac1 Regulates Apoptosis Resistance in Pro-Fibrotic Alveolar Macrophages Via Mediation of Mitochondrial Dynamics and Metabolic Reprogramming
Mentor: A. Brent Carter (brarter1@uab.edu)

Hartheimer, Joline
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
Major:  Chemical Engineering
Project: Cellular Mechanisms Underlying Gene-Nutrient Interactions Affecting Longevity
Mentor: John Hartman (jhartman@uab.edu)

Kem, Danielle
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
Project: 23nm Diameter Pre-formed a-synuclein Fibrils are More Effective at Inducing Parkinson’s Disease Pathology in Spraque Dawley Rats
Major:  Biology
Mentor: Andrew West (abwest@uab.edu)

Mallenahalli, Sheila
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
Major:  Biological Engineering
Project: Effects of pro-inflammatory cytokines on galactose deficient IgA1 production in IgA Nephropathy B cells
Mentor: Colin Reily (creily@uab.edu)

Manu, Nidhi
University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
Major:  Chemistry with Biochemistry Specialization
Project: Session-to-session performance measures of stroke survivors performing two body-weight-support treadmill training protocols
Mentor: David A. Brown (dbrownpt@uab.edu)

Joshua Nougaisse
Georgia Gwinnett College. Lawrenceville, GA
Major:  Biochemistry
Project: Growing Crystals of the High Affinity Copper Uptake Protein (hCTR1) for Structural Determination Using X-ray Crystallography
Mentor: Stephen Aller (sgaller@uab.edu)

Nutter, Christopher
Mississippi State University, Starkville, MS
Major:  Biochemistry
Project: Investigating the maturation and cell-cycle of hiPSC-derived cardiomyocytes after electrical stimulation
Mentor: Jianyi Jay Zhang.(jayzhang@uab.edu)

Patel, Kush
University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Major:  Mathematics
Project: Assessing the Role of TMD12 in Ion Translocation of the Na/Bicarbonate Cotransporter, NBCe1
Mentor: Mark Bevensee (bevensee@uab.edu)

Scott, Johnathan
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV
Major:  Biology, emphasis on Biotechnology
Project: The Relationship Between Alpha-Synuclein, Alpha-Galactosidase A, and Ischemic Stroke
Mentor: John Shacka (shacka@uab.edu)

Sutton, Rachel
Martin Methodist College, Pulaski, TN
Major:  Biology
Project: Do Lactic Acid Bacteria Convert Glucosinolates to AHR Agonists during Food Fermentation?
Mentor: Michael Gray (mjgray@uab.edu)

Samantha Yates    
Washington and Lee University, Lexington, VA
Major:  Biochemistry
Project: The G protein-coupled Estrogen Receptor is Required for Normal Swimming Performance in Zebrafish
Mentor: Daniel Gorelick (danielg@uab.edu)


SIBS-UPS (Undergraduate Pathology Scholars)

Ankenbauer, Katherine
Lipscomb University, Nashville, TN
Major:  molecular biology
Project: The role of PAICS in the tumorigenesis of pancreatic adenocarcinoma
Mentor: Sooryanarayana Varambally (sorrya@uab.edu)

Zubov, Tanya
Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC
Major:  Biology
Project: Effect of time-restricted alcohol feeding on select clock and metabolic genes in the liver and hippocampus
Mentor: Shannon Bailey (sbailey@uab.edu)