Dobrozsi, Rachel
East Tennessee State University, Johnson City TN
Major:  Health Science
Project:The Effects of Different Resuscitation Fluids Used in Trauma on the Release of Heparanase 
Mentor: Jillian Richter (jillianrichter@uabmc.edu)

Fokakis, Zoe
Mississippi State University, Starkville, MS 
Major:  Chemistry and Psychology
Project: Classical Conditioning of Electroconvulsive Seizures as a Model of Psychogenic Seizures
Mentor: Farah Lubin (flubin@uab.edu

Hanan, Jonathan
Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ  
Major:  Chemistry
Project: Construction of Pol1 Active Center Mutant
Mentor: David Schneider (dschneid@uab.edu); Catie Scull (cescull@uab.edu)

Harris, Shelby
Jacksonville State University Jacksonville, AL
Major:  Biology
Project: Rac1-induced mitochondrial ROS mediates mitochondrial biogenesis and profibrotic of macrophages in pulmonary fibrosis 
Mentor: A Brent Carter (acarter@uabmc.edu)

Krishan, Veena 
Birmingham-Southern College, Birmingham, AL 
Major:  Biology, Chemistry
Project: Pretreatment of Carprofen Impairs Inflammatiry Resolution Response and Promotes Cardiorenal Syndrome 
Mentor: Ganesh Halade (ganeshhalade@uab.edu)

Lightfoot, Christopher 
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
Major:  Biology
Project:
Mentor: Alexander Szalai (aszalai@uabmc.edu)

Lincoln, Beverly 
Sonoma State University - Ronert Park, CA 
Major:  Biology
Project: Effects of Auxotrophy and Media Composition on Yeast Lifespan and Production of Aging Factors 
Mentor: John Hartman (jhartman@uab.edu) 

Nelson, Benjamin 
Auburn University, Auburn, AL  
Major:  Biomedical  Sciences 
Project: Functional Characterization of Redox Responsive Genes in Lactobacillus reuteri
Mentor: Michael Gray (mjgray@uab.edu)

Pohl, Keely 
Capital University, Columbus Ohio  
Major:  Chemistry/Pre-Medicine
Project: GCell Number Decreases with Suppressors of Site Iq Electron Leak and Suppressors of Site IIIo Electron Leak in Hyperoxia Exposure of Murine Epithelial Cells
Mentor: Trent Tipple (ttipple@peds.uab.edu

Raymundo, Allison 
Crafton Hills College, Yucaipa, CA 
Major:  Chemistry
Project: Autophagy in Aging and Alzheimer's Disease
Mentor: Jianhu Zhang (jianhuazhang@uabmc.edu)

Sidebottom, Christian 
Union University Jackson, TN
Major:  Cell and Molecular Biology
Project: Myofiber Type Proportion Disparity Between Races in Patients with Spinal Cord Injury
Mentor: Mark Bevensee (bevensee@uab.edu)

Smith, Ashley 
Alcorn State University, Alcorn, MS
Major:  Biochemistry
Project: REV-ERBa Influences on Autophagy in WT and CBK Hearts 
Mentor: Martin Young (martinyoung@uabmc.edu

Tobin, Brielle  
Duke University, Durham, NC 
Major:  Neuroscience
Project: FRZB is a novel ;potential biomarker for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Mentor: Peter King (phking@uabmc.edu

Zoretich, Kaeli     
The College of Wooster, Wooster, OH 
Major:  Biochemistry and Moloecular Biology
Project: Preliminary Phenotypic Characterization of Human Bone Marrow Mesenchymal Stromal Cells from Normal and Leukemic Samples
Mentor: Ravia Bhatia (rbhatia@uabmc.edu)


SIBS-UPS (Undergraduate Pathology Scholars)

Stumpf, Hannah 
Hillsdale College, Hillsdale, MI 
Major:  Biochemistry/Mathematics
Project: SPAG5 Expression in Breast Cancer 
Mentor: Sooryanarayana Varambally (soorya@uab.edu)