Dr. Marzoni was Professor Emeritus of Plastic Surgery and Division Director of Plastic Surgery from 1974-1984.


  • 2019 William Hoffman, M.D.
  • 2018 Michael Longaker, M.D.
  • 2017 Bruce S. Bauer, M.D., FAAP
  • 2016 Bernard T. Lee, M.D, MBA, MPH
  • 2015 Luis O. Vasconez, M.D.
  • 2014 Eduardo D. Rodriguez, M.D., DDS
  • 2013 Edward A. Luce, M.D.
  • 2011 Renato Saltz, M.D.
  • 2010 Henry Carlos Vasconez, M.D.
  • 2009 Wilfredo Calderon, M.D.
  • 2008 Yuhei Yamamoto, M.D., Ph.D.
  • 2007 Louis C. Argenta, M.D.
  • 2006 Bruce F. Connell, M.D.
  • 2005 Gustavo Colon, M.D.
  • 2004 T. Roderick Hester, Jr., M.D.
  • 2003 Elizabeth Hall-Findlay, M.D.
  • 2002 Paul N. Manson, M.D.
  • 2000 R. Bruce Shack, M.D.
  • 1999 Berish Strauch, M.D.
  • 1998 David G. Dibbell, Sr., M.D.
  • 1997 John B. McCraw, M.D.
  • 1996 Henry W. Neale, M.D.
  • 1995Allen L. Van Beek, M.D.
  • 1994 John J. Coleman, III, M.D.
  • 1993 John Bostwick, III, M.D.
  • 1992William Futrell, M.D.
  • 1991 Harry J. Buncke, Jr., M.D.
  • 1990 Charles E. Horton, Sr., M.D.
  • 1989 Robert A. Chase, M.D.
  • 1988 Carl R. Hartrampf, Jr., M.D.
  • 1987 Kenneth E. Salyer, M.D.
  • 1986 Maurice J. Jurkiewcz, M.D.


About Francis A. Marzoni

Dr. Francis A. MarzoniFrancis A. "Tony" Marzoni was born In Birmingham, Alabama, in 1922. Dr. Marzoni studied at Vanderbilt University, receiving both his undergraduate and medical degrees. He went on to complete training in general and plastic surgery at Duke University and St. Barnabas Medical Center in New Jersey. After his training, Dr. Marzoni returned to Birmingham to join Dr. Samuel Upchurch in practice at UAB. Following the death of Dr. Upchurch, Dr. Marzoni succeeded him as chief of the Division of Plastic Surgery. He remained in that position until 1985. Although there was not a plastic surgery residency training program at UAB at the time, Dr. Marzoni was instrumental in establishing much of the clinical infrastructure upon which the residency program would be established. He also served as a director and examiner for the American Board of Plastic Surgery and was president of the Southeastern Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons.