The UAB Department of Surgery established the UAB Women in Surgery Program in 2016 to provide camaraderie and community for women surgeons and to encourage women medical students to choose surgical specialties. This event, which is held each spring, is part of the Department of Surgery’s annual Champ Lyons Lecture Series and is supported by the Champ Lyons Lectureship Fund.


  • 2021 Dana Telem, M.D.
  • 2019 Diana L. Farmer, M.D.
  • 2018 Sharon M. Weber, M.D.
  • 2017 Taylor S. Riall, M.D., Ph.D.
  • 2016 Jen Jen Yeh, M.D.