UAB graduate students receive Alabama EPSCoR Graduate Research Scholars Program Round 17 awards

Five UAB graduate students received more than $118,000 in awards to strengthen graduate research projects.

EPSCoR streamPhotography: Andrea MabryFive University of Alabama at Birmingham graduate students in the College of Arts and Sciences and Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine were awarded Graduate Research Scholars Program awards through the Alabama Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research. The awards for UAB’s five selected graduate students total more than $118,000 and will apply for the upcoming fall 2022 semester.  

The Graduate Research Scholars Program is designed to strengthen and enhance the research capacity of eight participating Alabama EPSCoR institutions by providing graduate student support for students performing federally funded EPSCoR research. The students in the UAB Graduate School represent the next generation of researchers and innovators for the advancement of Alabama’s high-tech human resource capacity.

Across the eight EPSCoR Ph.D.-granting institutions in the state, there were 78 GRSP proposal applications, and a competitive statewide review process that resulted in 36 awards for $862,500.

UAB graduate student awardees include:

The goals of GRSP are to position Alabama’s research institutions to be more competitive in attracting eminent senior faculty, encourage interdisciplinary training and research, establish a resource base for attracting distinguished faculty and researchers, and address the economic need for a highly trained workforce to ensure the growth of emerging technology companies.

Funds for the GRS program are appropriated by the legislature to support federally funded Alabama EPSCoR research as part of the Alabama Commission on Higher Education budget. GRSP awards are made to the eight Alabama EPSCoR research institutions to qualified graduate students by a statewide competitive review process. 

The eight EPSCoR member institutions are Alabama A&M University, Alabama State University, Auburn University, Tuskegee University, The University of Alabama, UAB, University of Alabama in Huntsville, and the University of South Alabama.

For more information, visit Alabama EPSCoR’s website at