Ideker has been named a professor emeritus in cardiovascular disease.

Harrell has been named a professor emerita in neurology.

Brouillette has been named a research professor emerita in chemistry.

Pappas will be the inaugural holder of an endowed professorship in infectious diseases.

Allison will hold an endowed professorship in the School of Public Health.

Rosenthal will hold a chair and become division director of otolaryngology.

Randall will hold an endowed professorship in rheumatology.

UAB doctors can now employ a new procedure, using thermal energy, to open constricted airways in patients whose severe asthma is not controlled by medication.

Forero-Torres will be the first holder of a professorship position endowed by the O'Neal-Sokol Breast Cancer Research Foundation of Alabama.

Shelton joined the UAB faculty on Feb. 1 to hold a chair in psychiatry.

Peters will hold a chair in otolaryngology surgery.

Lund will hold a chair in microbiology.

Prabhu will hold a chair in cardiovascular medicine.

Eckhoff will hold an endowed chair in transplantation surgery.

Rimmer will hold first chair in a collaboration between UAB and the Lakeshore Foundation.

The Birmingham Business Journal has named UAB’s Jamika Kirk to its list of Birmingham’s best and brightest, the “Top 40 under 40” for 2012.

As the number of knee and hip joint replacements grows, nanodiamond coatings could answer problems related to metal surfaces.

Actress and theater director Tonea Stewart will speak in honor of Black History Month.

Join the discussion when UAB continues its lunchtime lecture series with a presentation of two student films about programs for people with autism.

UAB accounting students will again partner with the United Way to offer free tax preparation services.