Endowed Chair

To provide UAB School of Nursing students with the knowledge needed to be nursing leaders, it is imperative to have faculty members with academic excellence and visionary guidance to lead and prepare them to enter professional practice.  Opportunities to recruit and retain these faculty members are made available through generous gifts towards endowed chairs.


Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing

Doreen C. Harper, PhD, RN, FAAN, is the current UAB School of Nursing Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing.

Dr. Rachel Z. Booth Endowed Chair in Nursing

Patricia Patrician, PhD, RN, FAAN, is the current Rachel Z. Booth Endowed Chair in Nursing

Dr. Marie L. O’Koren Endowed Chair in Nursing

The UAB School of Nursing welcomes internationally recognized nurse scholar Marie Bakitas, DNSc, APRN, NP-C, AOCN, ACHPN, FAAN, who joins the school as the Marie L. O’Koren Endowed Chair and Professor with a secondary appointment in the UAB School of Medicine. She is nationally and internationally recognized for her extensive contributions to the fields of oncology nursing and palliative care. Prior to joining UAB, Dr. Bakitas was an associate professor at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth and The Dartmouth Institute of Health Policy and Clinical Practice.


Endowed Chair

An Endowed Chair requires a funding level of $1,500,000 and is among the most prestigious and meaningful gifts that can be made to, or accepted by, an academic institution. This is a powerful tool for recruiting and retaining high-caliber nursing leaders who can keep the School's curriculum cutting edge, its graduates are highly sought-after, and its ranking the highest in the country. Income generated by an endowed chair may provide full salary or a salary supplement and fringe benefits for the recipient and support staff or other expenses as the endowment agreement permits.