Explore UAB

DEI Strategic Plan Banner

The SONoDEI Internal Advisory Council is a working Advisory Council that meets monthly with the charge of moving the SON Diversity Strategic Plan forward. Our strategic plan was drafted by the STRIDE Advisory Council and is seated on the core values of UABSON. Strategic goals were informed by feedback from the internal listening sessions with key stakeholders (faculty, staff, students, and alumni) and responses from the Campus Climate Survey administered by UABODEI.

Need to contact your representative to share a concern or suggestion?

Kristin Ashley

Kristin Ashley

Faculty - ACCC

kdfraz89@uab.edu

Samantha Baldwin

Samantha Baldwin

Staff - Staff Council

srose11@uab.edu

John Huffstutler

John Huffstutler

Staff - ADMIRE

jehuffst@uab.edu

Vacant

Vacant

Faculty - Graduate Program

Pamela Bowen

Pamela Bowen

Faculty - Immediate Past Chair

pbowen@uab.edu

Danielle Baker

Danielle Baker

Faculty - AMNP

sdbaker@uab.edu

Emily Davis

Emily Davis

Student - Prelicensure Alternate

etdav99@uab.edu

Vacant

Vacant

Student - AMNP

Charlotte Dorris

Charlotte Dorris

Deb Ejem

Deb Ejem

Faculty - PhD Program

tejem@uab.edu

Vacant

Vacant

DEI Appointee

Monique Halford

Monique Halford

Staff - Clinical & Global Partnerships

mhalford@uab.edu

Latasha Harris

Latasha Harris

Staff - Student Success

ltwillia@uab.edu

Connie Jackson

Connie Jackson

Staff - Administrative Operations

cjackso4@uab.edu

Jeremy Jordon

Jeremy Jordon

Faculty - FCHS

jordanjd@uab.edu

Mikela Knox

Mikela Knox

Staff - Research & Scholarship

mknox1@uab.edu

Shannon Layton

Shannon Layton

Faculty - ADMIRE

sslayton@uab.edu

Stacey Lockard

Stacey Lockard

Staff - FCHS

slockard@uab.edu

Jennifer Lollar

Jennifer Lollar

Staff - Communications

jpark@uab.edu

Vacant

Vacant

Student - Master’s Program

Somali Nguyen

Somali Nguyen

Faculty - DEI Appointee

shn@uab.edu

Bela Patel

Bela Patel

Faculty - Prelicensure Program

belaz82@uab.edu

Frank Puja

Frank Puja

Faculty - ACCC

fpuga@uab.edu

Vacant

Vacant

Student - PhD Advisory Council

Nevette Sample

Nevette Sample

Faculty - Dean’s Liaison

nsample@uab.edu

Robin Webb

Robin Webb

Faculty - Technology & Innovation

robin06@uab.edu

Lily Williams

Lily Williams

DEI Appointee

lilymp@uab.edu

STRIDE Advisory Council

The STRIDE (stride as in: S-Strategy, T-Teamwork, R-Recognition, I-Inclusion, D-Diversity, E-Equity) Task Force works closely with joyce gillie gossom of Best Gurl inc. to improve and the UABSON Strategic Diversity Plan which encompasses our mission, vision, and shared values to help build a community that values diversity, equity, and inclusion.

This task force also is instrumental in incorporating activities that actively promote and recognize our core values as guiding principles of fairness, equity, and inclusion for all stakeholders. This helps foster an environment at the UABSON where all students, faculty, staff, and alumni can thrive and fulfill their professional potential to improve health equity for all. The task force also is vitally important to help us establish a tone in the UABSON that will exemplify authentic diversity, equity, and inclusivity among our faculty, staff, students, and alumni.

2020-2021 STRIDE Task Force

Craig Anderson

Craig Anderson

Charlene Bender

Charlene Bender

Pamela Bowen

Pamela Bowen

Rachael Bruce

Rachael Bruce

Crystal Chapman-Lambert

Crystal Chapman-Lambert

Shawona Daniel

Shawona Daniel

Heather De La Piedra

Heather De La Piedra

Grace Grau

Grace Grau

Latasha Harris

Latasha Harris

Kevin Jerrolds

Kevin Jerrolds

Karmie Johnson

Karmie Johnson

Joe Ann Kennedy

Joe Ann Kennedy

Jennifer Lollar

Jennifer Lollar

Nevette Sample

Nevette Sample

Maria Shirey

Maria Shirey

Tedra Smith

Tedra Smith

Rebecca Suttle

Rebecca Suttle

Michele Talley

Michele Talley