Print this page

School of Nursing students honored by UAB National Alumni Society

Seven among those receiving 2015-2016 scholarship awards
AoyjaiThe University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing was well represented among the 2015-2016 UAB National Alumni Society (NAS) scholarship recipients recently announced.

Amanda SegarsRecipients with ties to the School include Dallas Gilley, Maggie Hunt, Ashley Prunty, Lisbeth Seale, Amanda Segars, Lacey Wise and Aoyjai Prapanjaroensin BSN, RN.

Ashley PruntyPrapanjaroensin, a Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing (PhD) student, received the prestigious Dr. Charles A. McCallum International Scholarship named in honor of UAB’s third president, Dr. Charles A. “Scotty” McCallum, who served from 1987 to 1993. Dr. McCallum is also a member of the School’s Board of Visitors and has established the Alice L. McCallum Endowed Nursing Scholarship in memory of his wife, Alice, who was a nurse.

Dallas GilleyThe Dr. Charles A. McCallum International Scholarship is awarded annually to a UAB student with a grade point average of 3.5 or better and who currently has citizenship in either Thailand or Taiwan. Prapanjaroensin is from Thailand.

Lacey WiseWise, a fourth-semester Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) student, received the Lois & Barry Luther National Alumni Society Endowed Nursing Scholarship. The scholarship is endowed by Lois Luther, a 1976 Master’s of Science in Nursing (MSN) graduate of the School, and her husband.

Lisbeth SealeAlso honored with scholarships were Hunt, a nurse anesthesia student, and fourth-semester BSN students Gilley and Segars, all of whom were recipients of a Dean’s Scholarship awarded by Doreen C. Harper, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean and Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing.

Maggie HuntOthers honored were Prunty, a fourth-semester BSN student, who was awarded a Dean's Scholarship to the University Honors College, and Seale, a pre-nursing student in the Dean's Nursing Scholars Program, who received an NAS License to Learn Scholarship.

To view the full album click here.
Last modified on January 13, 2020