Print this page

Faculty, alumni recognized by AANP

  • March 15, 2022

By Hunter Carter

The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing continues to produce nationally recognized nurse leaders. The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is honoring four of the School’s alumni—including one who also is a faculty member—for their exemplary work as nurse practitioners and nurse practitioner advocates.

Assistant Professor Melanie Gibbons Hallman, DNP, CRNP, FNP-BC, ACNP-BC, ENP-C, CEN, TCRN, FAEN, FAAN (BSN 1983, MSN 1990, MSN 1995, DNP 2012), and Derek Holt, DNP, FNP-BC, ENP-BC (DNP 2012), will receive the AANP State Award for Excellence for their work in clinical practice in Alabama and Mississippi, respectively.

Vicky Stone-Gale, DNP, AAPRN, FNP-BC, FAANP (DNP 2011), of Florida and Lisa Eichelberger, PhD, RN (BSN 1995, MSN 1979, PhD 1986), of Georgia will receive the AANP Advocate State Award for Excellence for their significant contributions toward increasing the awareness and recognition of nurse practitioners.

Awardees from each state will be honored at the 2022 AANP National Conference in June 2022.

Last modified on March 15, 2022