The UAB Service Awards proudly honors employees who have made a significant career commitment to the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the School of Optometry.

This year the 10 members of faculty to reach the honorable milestones are: Dr. Roy Joseph (5yrs), Dr. Stefanie Varghese (5yrs), Russel Veale (5yrs), Chris Boutwell (10yrs), Dr. Janene Sims (15yrs), Dr. Timothy Kraft (25yrs), Dr. Om Srivastava (25yrs), Connie Wright (25yrs), Dr. Adam Gordon (35yrs), and Dr. Michael Loop (40yrs).

To acknowledge active employees who reach the 5, 10 and 15 year milestone, service pins and certificates are distributed by Human Resources to campus departments.

Active employees who reach the increasingly impressive milestones of 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service are invited to a luncheon on behalf of UAB President Ray L. Watts. They will also be presented with a service award pin and certificate recognizing their years of service and have the opportunity to select a gift of gratitude from our selection based on the number of years being recognized.