Print this page
August 01, 2017

Campuswide council to advise, report on QEP progress

Written by

UAB QEP sizedA new advisory council has been created to provide cross-campus feedback on the progress of the university’s Quality Enhancement Plan — student learning in a team environment.

Representatives are included from all UAB academic, student government, faculty senate and some administrative units. Initial appointments are for three years, and a member selected from the council will serve a one-year term as chair.

The council will meet twice in each of the fall and spring semesters, beginning in September, and will advise on both short- and long-range plans, evaluate CTL-QEP Teaching Innovation awards and UNIT awards programs and review progress toward major milestones.

The inaugural members are listed alphabetically:

  • Brooke Becker, UAB Libraries
  • Courtney Bentley, EdD, Education
  • Dan Bullard, Ph.D., Joint Health Sciences
  • Kellie Carter, Ph.D., Graduate School
  • Rod Fullard, O.D., Optometry
  • Laurel Hitchcock, Ph.D., CAS
  • Lynn Holt, Health Professions
  • Anthony Hood, Ph.D., Business
  • Maria Hopkins Ph.D., CAS
  • Lisa Kerr, Ed.D., VMASC
  • Jason Kirby, Ph.D., Engineering
  • Rhonda McLain, Ph.D., Nursing
  • Sam Moss, Undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Pam Paustian, Ph.D., eLearning and Professional Studies
  • Scott Phillips, Ph.D., Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Julie Preskitt, Ph.D., Public Health
  • Lauren Rast, Ph.D., CAS
  • Cheryl Robinson, DSN, Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee
  • Scott Snyder, Ph.D., Center for Educational Accountability
  • Garrett Stephens, Graduate Student Government
  • Cynthia Terry, Registrar
  • Ken Tilashalski, DMD, Dentistry
  • Diane Tucker, Ph.D., Honors College
  • James Willig, M.D., Medicine

Universities are required by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to have a Quality Enhancement Plan that improves an aspect of student learning and enhances the quality of higher education. UAB’s five-year plan was implemented in 2015.