Ronald S. Owen, FACHE, alumnus of the School of Health ProfessionsMaster of Science in Health Administration (MSHA Class 8) program, was inducted to the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame this summer.

The Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame (AHHOF), founded in 1997, recognizes “those persons living or deceased who have made outstanding contributions to, or rendered exemplary service for healthcare in the State of Alabama.”

Owen, who served as CEO of Southeast Alabama Medical Center in Dothan nearly 20 years, also served as president of the Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, the academic division of the 420-bed regional medical center.

He oversaw the development of a family centered Women’s Center with the region’s only LDRP birthing suites, and opening an advanced Surgery Tower and a Heart and Vascular Center. He is a past chairman of the Alabama Hospital Association and was a foundational leader in the establishment of Alabama’s College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Owen is not the first person with School ties to be inducted to the hall of fame. The late Michael E. Stephens, the driving force behind the Lakeshore Foundation and member of MSHA Class 9, and Harriett Holt Cloud, RD, LD, FADA, who has taught in the UAB School of Health Professions since 1976, are members of the Class of 2014.

Bob Chapman, a member of MSHA Class 6 and former president and CEO of Medical Center East as well as its successor the Eastern Health Systems, is a member of the Hall of Fame Class of 2012. Gary Glasscock, FACHE, CEO of Noland Healthcare (MSHA Class 8) was honored in the Hall of Fame Class of 2008.

L.R. (Rush) Jordan, a long time UAB faculty member and a leader of change in the health care industry through his leadership by desegregating Birmingham hospitals in the 1960s, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2002. Every year, the Department of Health Services Administration hosts the Jordan Distinguished Lecture Series to sustain his legacy.

Christy Harris Lemak named to Hall of Fame Board

Also, Christy Harris Lemak, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Health Services Administration, has been appointed to the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame Board of Directors/Selection Committee. The board, a select group of leaders from across the state, is responsible for the supervision of the Hall of Fame organization. They are also in charge of making the biennial selection of hall of fame inductees.

Lemak joins UAB colleagues Doreen Harper, Ph.D., dean, UAB School of Nursing, and Max Michael, III, M.D., professor and former dean, UAB School of Public Health, on this prestigious board.

In addition to her academic duties, Lemak conducts research in the areas of health care management and leadership development, with an emphasis on how leadership and organizational factors are associated with high performance. She currently serves on the Boards of the Commission on Accreditation of Health Management Education (CAHME), the National Center for Healthcare Leadership (Chicago, IL) and Community Hospital Corporation (Plano, Texas).

Since 2002, the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame has inducted a class of new members every two years. This was the 13th class inducted overall.