On December 13, 2018, the UAB School of Health ProfessionsPhysician Assistant Studies program hosted the annual Honors Convocation where they delivered the Director’s Award, Preceptor of the Year Award, SHP Charles Brooks Award for Creativity, and recognized the top graduates from the Class of 2018.

Preceptor of the Year

Peter Yen, MSHA, PA-C, a Physician Assistant in the UAB Department of Surgery Division of Acute Care Surgery was awarded Preceptor of the Year.  This award honors preceptors who exemplify excellence in medicine. The award is given in appreciation for all of the time and dedication they provide to help further our students’ education.

Alex CodyChristian Alexander Cody with Program Director Tosi GilfordPhysician Assistant Studies Director’s Award

This award, honoring scholarship, service and leadership, is decided upon with assistance of the faculty. This year’s award was given to Christian Alexander Cody.

School of Health Professions’ Charles Brooks Award for Creativity

This school-wide award, which honors an outstanding student in recognition of creative accomplishments that complement their academic achievements in both the PA program and the university, was also given to Christian Alexander Cody.

Cody is currently a member of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) Judicial Affairs Commission – 1 of only 8 in the U.S. selected. In 2017, he was selected by the Physician Assistant Education Association for their Student Health Policy Fellowship. In addition to his MSPAS degree, Cody also earned the UAB Certificate in Public Health.

Margaret K. Kirklin Award for Scholastic Achievement

This award is given to UAB PA students with at least a cumulative 4.0 GPA (on a 4.0 scale). We had a record number of 21 students who were honored this year, including:

2018 Kirklin Award2018 Kirklin Award Winners

Ashley Anyadike, Lindsey Baroch, Allison Bond, Michelle Brown, Eliza Chevalier, Olivia Cohen., Anna Gagnon, Michelle Ghere, Madeline Hargis, Allie Haynes, Katherine Ivey, Sarah Jones, Ashley King, Katherine McLeod, Jessica Mena, Katie Nahay, Korina Nance, Sydney Nichols, Elizabeth Jean Pressler, Laura Ryan, and Rachel Stallman.

Alpha Eta Honor Society

This  national honor society for allied health professionals requires students to maintain an overall cumulative GPA of 3.8 or greater (on a 4.0 scale). The society also  recognizes the graduate student’s community and professional service, as well as their ability to demonstrate  accomplishments in the area of leadership. Students inducted this year include:

Amanda Altgilbers, Ashley Anyadike, Lindsey Baroch, Allison Bond, Michelle Brown, Eliza Chevalier, Nicole Cohen, Olivia Cohen., Anna Gagnon, Michelle Ghere, Madeline Hargis, Catherine Harris, Allie Haynes, Katherine Ivey, Victoria James, Sarah Jones, Ashley King, Ashley McDaniel, Katherine McLeod, Jessica Mena, Steven Milligan, Regan Murphy, Katie Nahay, Korina Nance, Sydney Nichols, Jessica Pearlstein, Cecilia Porter, Elizabeth Jean Pressler, Lauren Robinson, Morgan Russell, Laura Ryan, Emilie Saunee, Rachel Stallman, Asia Sullivan, Allen Veren, Haleigh Wells, and Jennifer Williams.

Two faculty members were also inducted into the Alpha Eta National Honor Society: Dr. Tosi Gilford and Dr. Wei Li.

Research Poster Awards

Emilie Saunee and Michelle Ghere1st Place: Emilie Saunee and Michelle Ghere with Kelley SwatzellEvery year our PA students work on research projects and present their findings. This year, the faculty delivered awards to five teams for their work.

  • First Place: Michelle Ghere and Emilie Saune’e
    • “Stem Cell Therapy and the Effectiveness of Treating Knee Osteoarthritis”
  • Second Place: Allie Haynes, Sarah Tharani and Rachel Vines
    • “Systematic Review of Salt Substitution on Blood Pressure Changes in Rural China”
  • Third Place: Tabitha Abernathy, Stephanie Christian and Danna Self
    • “Selective Versus Nonselective COX Inhibitor Use as Prophylaxis for Heterotopic Ossification Post Total Hip Arthroplasty”
  • Honorable Mention
    • Erica Roslovich and Laura Ryan: “Does Soy Formula Decrease Infant Bone Mineralization?”
    • Alyson Ryal and Rachel Stallman: “Postoperative Arrhythmias Following Surgical Repair of Tetralogy of Fallot: Transatrial versus Transventricular Approach”