The UAB School of Public Health is excited to announce the recipients of the 2021 Alumni Awards, chosen each year to recognize outstanding alumni and their contributions to the field of Public Health.

soph buildingThe mission of the UAB School of Public Health is to make positive and lasting change in the public’s health through the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, teaching, and service to the larger community, and we are proud to select three graduates from our school who are executing this mission daily in their professional careers. Winners of our 2021 Alumni Awards include:

  • The Early Career Achievement Alumnus/Alumna Award: This year’s recipient is Ambika Srivastava, DMD, MPH, Lead Dentist at the Kodiak Island Family Dentistry in Kodiak, Alaska. The Early Career Achievement Alumni Award recognizes excellence in public health for alumni who have graduated from the School of Public Health within the last seven years.
  • The Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award: This year’s recipient is Sherri Davidson, Ph.D., MPH, State Epidemiologist and Director of the Office of Informatics & Data Analytics for the Alabama Department of Public Health. The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes a graduate who has shown a substantive commitment to promoting health and preventing disease.
  • The Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award: This year’s recipient is Kayvon Modjarrad, M.D., Ph.D., Director of the Emerging Infectious Diseases Program at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research. The Alumnus of the Year Award recognizes established alumni who graduated from the School of Public Health at least 8 years ago and have demonstrated Involvement in public health-related activities outside work (e.g. beyond the call of duty) and are considered exemplary.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2021 UAB School of Public Health Alumni Awards, and thank you to all who nominated a deserving individual! Nominations for the 2022 Awards will open later this Spring.

More News