School of Public Health building

Three alumni awards were presented at the recent School of Public Health Spring Town Hall event on April 27th, 2022.

Awards included the Early Career Achievement Alumni Award, the Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award, and the Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award. Awards are announced each January following a months' long nomination, review, and selection process coordinated through our Alumni Advisory Board during the previous calendar year.

The Early Career Achievement Alumni Award recognizes excellence in public health for alumni who have graduated from the School of Public Health within the last seven years. This year’s recipient was Dr. Ambika Srivastava who serves as the Lead Dentist at the Kodiak Island Family Dentistry in Kodiak, Alaska. Dr. Srivastava is a 2016 UAB MPH Epidemiology graduate who went on to receive her DMD from the University of Mississippi Medical Center in May 2020. Dr. Srivastava has advocated for oral and public health on local and national levels and received two national awards for her work. Additionally, she has participated in various volunteer and service opportunities since graduating from UAB, helping to provide dental care to rural populations and uninsured individuals.

The Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award recognizes a graduate who has shown a substantive commitment to promoting health and preventing disease. This year’s recipient was Dr. Sherri Davidson, the State Epidemiologist and Director of the Office of Informatics & Data Analytics for the Alabama Department of Public Health. Dr. Davidson received her MPH in Epidemiology and International Health from UAB in 2006 and earned her PhD in Epidemiology from UAB in 2018. Moving from Interim State Epidemiologist to the official State Epidemiologist at the Alabama Department of Public Health during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Davidson displayed excellence while facing unprecedented public health challenges. She has also served in such roles as the President of the Counsel of State and Territorial Epidemiologists while also being a source of inspiration and wisdom through her mentorship of public health students.

The third and final award presented is the Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award. This award recognizes established alumni who graduated from the School of Public Health at least eight years ago and have demonstrated involvement in public health-related activities outside work (e.g. beyond the call of duty) and are considered exemplary. This year’s recipient was Dr. Kayvon Modjarrad, founding Director of the Emerging Infectious Diseases Program at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research and Associate Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University. Dr. Modjarrad received his Ph.D. and MSPH in Epidemiology from UAB in 2004 and went on to receive his M.D. at UAB in 2006. As the principal inventor and lead for the U.S. Army's vaccine against COVID-19, he leads all of WRAIR’s COVID-19 response efforts. Dr. Modjarrad also serves as an advising member of Operation Warp Speed/Countermeasures Acceleration Group and is the US member representative to the World Health Organization’s Strategic Advisory Group of Experts Immunization Working Group on COVID-19 Vaccines and Vaccination.

Nominations for the 2022 alumni awards are now open and available here, with a submission deadline of September 30th, 2022.

Submit a Nomination

More News