Janet T.

The UAB School of Public Health’s Janet M. Turan, Ph.D. has been named a Scientific Co-Chair of the National Institute of Health (NIH)’s Fogarty Stigma Research Training Institute taking place June 1-11, 2021. The NIH has begun focusing on research around health-related stigma and its negative impact on a wide spectrum of health outcomes and behaviors. Therefore, the NIH Fogarty International Center is supporting an intensive training program for investigators who want to learn more about methods for studying stigma and intervening to affect programs and policy.

Through a highly competitive selection process, new and emerging scholars from around the globe were chosen to participate in this virtual two-week program. Dr. Turan, along with her scientific co-chairs Drs. Nyblade and Stangl provided scientific guidance for the design of this training program and will be key faculty presenting different topics in stigma research. Bulent Turan, Ph.D., B.S., M.A. of UAB Psychology was selected as faculty of the institute, and Latesha Elopre, M.D., MSPH of the UAB School of Medicine was selected as a trainee.

“This role as Scientific Co-Chair demonstrates the status and recognition of UAB faculty as key scientific leaders in the study of health-related stigma,” said Dr. Turan.

Dr. Janet Turan is a Professor in the UAB School of Public Health’s Department of Health Care Organization and Policy, Director of the UAB Sparkman Center for Global Health, and Co-Director of the UAB Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) Behavioral and Community Sciences Core. For more information on the Fogarty Stigma Research Training Institute, please visit the Institute’s website.

More News