The annual Student Excellence Awards recently celebrated UAB students, student organizations and student organization advisors for their outstanding contributions to campus life in the areas of service and leadership. At this year’s program, which was hosted in the Hill Student Center Ballrooms,a record number of 217 nominations were submitted on behalf of outstanding UAB students, organizations, and student organization advisors.

The 2018 program provided the opportunity for UAB’s campus community to submit nominations for 11 award categories. The award recipients are selected by a panel of judges composed from 11 campus departments. In addition to these 11 awards, special recognition of student experience scholarship recipients and fraternity and sorority life awards were presented during this year’s ceremony.

The 2018 recipients of Student Excellence Awards include:

  • Kerri Tang - Excellence in Service
  • Tina Tian - Outstanding Scholastic Achievement
  • Molly Clay - Inclusive Campus Commitment
  • Dr. Samiksha Raut - Student Organization Advisor of the Year
  • Deja Stephens - Student Employee of the Year
  • Shreya Malhotra - Rising Star
  • Renuka Srivastava - Outstanding Student Leader
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. - Outstanding Community Service Project
  • Student National Medical Association - Program of the Year
  • The Disability Advocates Organization - Outstanding New Organization
  • Student Affiliate of the American Chemical Society - Outstanding Student Organization

Scholarship recipients:

  • Amanda Darby - Virginia D. Gauld National Alumni Society Endowed Scholarship
  • Erica Webb - Dr. Aaron Lamar, Jr. Endowed Scholarship
  • Kerri Tang - UAB Emerging Leaders Endowed Scholarship
  • Mary Ann Jimenez - UAB Emerging Leaders Endowed Scholarship
  • Mercedes Vinson - Camille Armstrong Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Alysha Carter - Camille Armstrong Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Sidni Smith - Camille Armstrong Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Fraternity and Sorority life awards:

  • Ghada Aboudhaidar - Panhellenic Scholarship
  • Kane Agan - IFC Scholarship
  • Joshua Sewell - IFC Scholarship
  • James Bray - Greek Man of the Year
  • Simmi Kaur - Greek Woman of the Year
  • Theta Pi chapter of Alpha Tau Omega - IFC Chapter of Excellence
  • Xi Mu chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. - NPHC Chapter of Excellence
  • Gamma Omega chapter of Alpha Gamma Delta - Panhellenic Chapter of Excellence
  • Alpha Iota chapter of Delta Epsilon Psi Fraternity, Inc. - MGC Chapter of Excellence

Two registered student organizations, Beyond Measures and Sigma Alpha Iota, provided musical performances between award categories. Jump below for a look at some of the photos from the event!


DSC 5384
DSC 5388
DSC 5399
DSC 5402
DSC 5403
DSC 5411
DSC 5415
DSC 5428
DSC 5433
DSC 5434
DSC 5438
DSC 5450
DSC 5454
DSC 5460
DSC 5462
DSC 5464
DSC 5465
DSC 5468
DSC 5469
DSC 5475
DSC 5476
DSC 5482
DSC 5487
DSC 5489
DSC 5499
DSC 5500
DSC 5501
DSC 5502
DSC 5506
DSC 5511
DSC 5520
DSC 5521
DSC 5527
DSC 5528
DSC 5534
DSC 5546