• Dr Jennifer Wycoff Receiving Campus Champion Award

  • Tracey And Yancey Williams Receiving Award For Son Yancey Williams Who Was Out Of Town Presenting A Project

  • BMEN Awards Dinner 2022 Blaze Statue

  • Student Aaron Hicks receives award.

  • Tim Quarshie Receives Graduation Stole From Student Affairs Vice President Dr John Jones

The Blazers Male Excellence Network at the University of Alabama at Birmingham held its annual dinner to honor academic excellence at the UAB National Alumni Society House on Saturday, February 19. 

The event, emceed by Eunice Elliot, recognized BMEN students and alumni who excelled in the classroom, on campus, and in the community. This year's cohort of BMEN achieved an overall 3.4 GPA, with 10 of the 22 participants earning presidential honors, earning a 4.0 GPA. In addition to the cohort's stellar performance, the mentors averaged 3.37 GPAs, with two receiving presidential awards.

There were also several special presentations in addition to honoring outstanding students. Christopher Jones, SMDP director, was recognized for his unwavering support of UAB students while completing his doctorate.

Dr. Jennifer Wycoff was named the BMEN Campus Champion. Wycoff, director of the Vulcan Materials Academic Success Center, provided: tutoring, supplemental instruction, workshops and study hours, and individual academic advising.

Rashada LeRoy, President and CEO of LRY Media Group and a mentor to BMEN, was named the Community Champion over the years. 

BMEN is a peer mentoring group designed to support black male students entering UAB. The program, coordinated through the Student Multicultural Diversity and Programs (SMDP) office in Student Affairs, partners extensively trained returning students with incoming students to improve quality of life and promote retention.

Below is the complete list of students honored during the ceremony.

BMEN Standout: Ken Barnes, Evan Braxton, Jerry Brown, Tarren Elder, Raphael Froelich, Aaron Hicks, Cadarius Timmons Houston, Nathalaan Jones, Caleb Lynch, Zachary Newsome, Antonio Parker, Kylan Patterson, Quan Patterson, Timothy Quarshie, Zavier Robinson, Seth Sigmon, Brian Sims, Johnathan Sims, Valante' Turner, Ricky Ware, Yancey Williams II

Dean's List: Daniel Elston, Robert Gulley, Nore Hodge, Cameron Horton, Alonso Moreno, D'Angelo Sturdivant

Presidential Honors: Miles Alston, Jay Anderson, B.J. Byrd, William Coleman, Jaylen Davis, John Goodman, Donte Johnson, A.J. Nettles, Brandon Okweye, Bashir Tajuddin, Xavier Turner, Micah Williams

Spring 2022 Graduates: Tyree Blair (Information Systems, Concentration Cybersecurity Management), Godsgift Caleb (Kinesiology, Concentration Exercise Science), Nore Hodge (Materials Engineering), Cameron Horton (Information Systems, Concentration Cybersecurity Management), Nathalaan Jones (Marketing, Concentration Digital Marketing), Kenneth Miller (Kinesiology, Concentration Exercise Science), Kylan Patterson (Marketing, Concentration Digital Marketing), Timothy Quarshie (Communications Studies, Concentration Broadcasting), Brandon Barnes (Biomedical Sciences), Johnathan Sims (Art, Concentration Art Studio), Micah Williams (Majors Philosophy, English concentration Literature, Minor African American Studies)

Summer 2022 Graduates: Antonio Parker (Nursing, Minor Spanish), Xavier Turner (Political Science, American Government/Political Theory Concentration; Criminal Justice)

On behalf of the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the division of Student Affairs, congratulations to all who were recognized at this event! For more information about BMEN, visit their website here.