Under the charge of senior administration, in September 2018, UAB formed a campus-wide Suicide Prevention Task Force to discuss and establish a comprehensive, coordinated and collaborative suicide prevention plan for UAB students that includes prevention/education, intervention, and response/postvention strategies based on best practices and evidence-based models. The formation of this group was in keeping with the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s comittment to promoting the total health and wellbeing of all students.

In collaboration with Student Counseling Services, members of the task force were appointed by UAB President Ray Watts, Vice President for Division of Student Affairs John Jones, and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Pamela Benoit. Members serve a critical role in developing comprehensive, collaborative, and coordinated plans for suicide prevention and overall well-being of students. 

As this group works to fill the needs of the campus, they are seeking input from the UAB community, Please submit your feedback here by March 22.


The group was charged with the following:

  • Research joining the national JED campus program
  • Selection of an evidence-based approach for suicide prevention
  • Identification of best practices for suicide prevention for colleges and universities
  • Research other campuses and strategies to address suicide on campus
  • Recommendation for UAB as a campus to ensure there is a strategy for comprehensive suicide prevention that includes education, prevention, intervention, response, follow up and postvention.

The current task force membership includes:

  • Jonathan Adams, Director, UAB Student Outreach and Conduct
  • Celine Atkins, Graduate Student, Psychology
  • Jake Baggott, Administrator, Division of Student Affairs
  • Laurence Black, Graduate Student Government Association
  • Consuelo Click, Counselor, Student Counseling Services
  • Mike Faircloth, Physician, Student Health Services
  • Rachel Fargason, Physician and Administrator, UAB Psychiatry
  • Jennifer Griffin, Director, Student Leadership and Involvement
  • Sean Hall, Faculty, School of Education, Counselor Education
  • Brian Johnson, Director, Residence Life
  • Robin Lanzi, Faculty and Administrator, School of Public Health
  • Lori McMahon, Dean, Graduate School
  • Chad Petit, Faculty and Administrator, Graduate Biomedical Science
  • Kathleen Pridgen, Physician, Student Health Services
  • Allison Solomon , Director, Disability Support Services
  • Siddhu Srikakolapu, Undergraduate student, President, Undergraduate Student Government
  • Angela Stowe, Director, Student Counseling Services and Wellness Promotion
  • Mary Wallace, Administrator, Division of Student Affairs
  • Zandral Washington, UAB Police Department
  • Kylie Woodman , Undergraduate student, Resident Assistant, University Program Board

For more information, contact Task Force Chair Angela Stowe at amstowe@uab.edu.