Mary Ashley Canevaro

Mary Ashley Canevaro

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

During Mental Health Awareness Month in May, learn about ways to take care of mental well-being and available UAB resources.

Erin Yarbrough, associate vice president of Clinical Operations for UAB Medicine, has been named the recipient of the 2022 Dr. Will Ferniany Academic Medicine Leadership Award.

Three medical students were selected for the Grants for Emerging Researchers/Clinicians Mentorship (GERM) Program for the year 2022-2023. They will train one-on-one with Infectious Diseases experts Ellen Eaton, M.D., Olivia Van Gerwen, M.D., and Rachael Lee, M.D., respectively. 

On May 3, Casey Weaver, M.D., the Wyatt and Susan Haskell Endowed Chair for Medical Excellence in the Department of Pathology, was elected to the prestigious and esteemed National Academy of Sciences (NAS)—one of the highest honors offered to scientists in the U.S.

The Heersink School of Medicine is spotlighting each of the women selected for the Momentum in Medicine at UAB program and hosting one-on-one interviews to learn their stories. In April, Heersink communications sat down with Lauren Graham, M.D., Ph.D., Erin Yarbrough, and Kierstin Kennedy, M.D., to learn more about their stories and what Momentum means to them.

The UAB Center for Low Vision Rehabilitation offers a weekend getaway for children with low vision and their families annually—an event that is fastened together by handfuls of volunteers and donations. During National Volunteer Week, Dawn DeCarlo O.D., Ph.D., professor in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, explains how the event makes a lasting impact.

In part five of the Office for Diversity and Inclusion's Women's History Month series, Emergency Medicine Chair Marie-Carmelle Elie, M.D., shares her personal journey of becoming the first Black woman to be named a permanent chair of an academic emergency medicine department at a major American medical school.

A new program of AIDS Alabama, the Way Station, is working to fill longstanding and critical gaps in the Birmingham community by offering a shelter for homeless youth ages 18-24. Three adolescent medicine experts weigh in on the preventive nature of the new shelter.

The UAB Heersink School of Medicine has awarded the annual Multi-Investigator Program Award to three research investigators for the 2021-2022 cycle: Timmy Lee, M.D., Bruce Korf, M.D., Ph.D., and David Pollock, Ph.D.

In our final installment of Meet medicine leadership, the communications team sat down with LaKisha Mack to discuss her trajectory from student worker to senior associate dean, how she learned to think beyond black-and-white as a thought leader, and why she mentors ten women per week.

Page 5 of 19