Kendra Carter

Kendra Carter

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


As a communications director in the UAB School of Medicine, Carter leads and executes communications strategy in medical education and for the school’s regional campuses in Huntsville and Montgomery.

Before joining UAB in 2013, Carter worked as a staff writer at Alabama newspapers for 5 years, then shifted her career focus from journalism to communications and public relations. She has a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Auburn University and a master’s degree in public administration from UAB.

Sharon A. Spencer, M.D., professor in the UAB Department of Radiation Oncology, is the 2021 winner of the Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine. The award recognizes physicians at UAB who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to providing highly skilled and deeply compassionate medical care to their patients.
In this episode of our monthly Road to Accreditation series, Todd Peterson, M.D., assistant dean for Students, talks with Craig Hoesley, M.D., senior associate dean for Medical Education; and James Willig, M.D., MSPH, assistant dean for Clinical Education, on how recent changes to the USMLE affect how our students are assessed in their medical school career and as they apply to residencies.
The Association for Hospital Medical Education declared Friday, Aug. 20, 2021, as its inaugural GME Professionals Day to recognize staff leadership in residency and fellowship training programs, as well as GME administration. Meet a few of the leaders working in our programs at UAB.

If you ask Stephanie Berger, M.D., about the opportunities available for educators at UAB, she would say five words: Seek and you shall find.

When Caroline Harada, M.D., and Stephanie Berger, M.D., took over as course directors for Patient, Doctor and Society three years ago, they not only brought their passions for community service and education on social determinants of health, they also incorporated an active learning format to engage students in small group discussions throughout the course.

Preliminary construction began last week on Volker Hall’s sixth floor, the first step in a renovation plan that includes collaborative and administrative space on the sixth floor and a new active learning space on the second floor, along with a modern new atrium that will bring the entrance to the building directly off University Boulevard.

William M. Geisler, M.D., MPH, professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases and co-director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, has been named the assistant dean for Physician Scientist Development in the UAB School of Medicine.

The four outstanding educators named the winners of the 2021 Dean’s Excellence Awards in Teaching share their inspirations and favorite aspects of teaching, along with tips for faculty looking for new resources in education.

The House Staff council is a group of residents and fellows that serves as the voice for trainees and advocates on their behalf. A few members of the 2020-2021 House Staff Council officers reflect on their terms as HSC leaders and share projects they’re proud of, along with initiatives coming up.

Tiffani Maycock, D.O., M.S, FAAFP, assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine and director of the Selma Family Medicine Residency Program, was named to the board of directors for the American Board of Family Medicine.

Page 5 of 28