Print this page

UAB art faculty exhibition at AEIVA, Nov. 5-Dec. 8

  • October 29, 2018
On Nov. 15 see the exhibition and enjoy “Chamber Music @ AEIVA,” a free performance that connects chamber music with the art on display.

fine bodyJenny Fine. In Unison (Detail), 2018 Archival pigment prints, stop motion film, video sculptureAn exhibition of works by art faculty at the University of Alabama at Birmingham will open Monday, Nov. 5.

The exhibition, “Interlude/Inquiry,” is presented by the College of Arts and SciencesAbroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts, 1221 10th Ave. South. The exhibit will include a free reception from 6-8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 9, open to the public. It will be on display through Saturday, Dec. 8.

“Interlude” is a recurring quadrennial exhibition series at AEIVA featuring the CAS Department of Art and Art History studio faculty and staff. This edition of “Interlude” will present works from DAAH faculty and staff that encapsulate the inquisitive spirit of academic research in the visual arts.

“I encouraged many of the exhibiting faculty to step out of their comfort zones and contribute works that fall outside the boundaries of what they would be generally expected to exhibit,” said John Fields, AEIVA curator.

“Having this exhibition every four years theoretically gives all UAB DAAH students at least one opportunity to see their professors, all of whom are practicing artists, in a professional context outside of the classroom. We think it’s critical in giving them a better understanding of what it means to be a working artist.”

Participating faculty include Doug Barrett, Doug Baulos, Gary Chapman, Derek Cracco, Stephen Evans, Jenny Fine, Sarah Heath, Stacey Holloway, Heather Holmes, Lindsay Parris, Elisabeth Pellathy, Jared Ragland, Sonja Rieger, Ty Smith and Erin Wright. Learn more about the artists on the DAAH faculty page online.

“Chamber Music @ AEIVA” on Thursday, Nov. 15   

Enjoy free art, music and refreshments when the CAS Department of Music and AEIVA partner to bring a concert that connects chamber music with the visual arts. “Chamber Music @ AEIVA” features a gallery viewing and reception at 5 p.m. followed by a concert at 5:30 p.m., in the AEIVA.

The free concert will feature performances by instrumental and vocal UAB faculty members including Patrick Evans, baritone; Emily Jaworski, mezzo-soprano; Jay Evans, trombone; Laura Usiskin, cello; and Christopher Steele, piano. On the program are works by composers including UAB Assistant Professor of Music Technology Craig Brandwein, Ed Robertson (emeritus faculty at University of Montevallo), Aaron Copland, Ricky Ian Gordon and Igor Stravinsky. Learn more about performers and Brandwein on the music faculty page online.