nsfspin


As one of the six oldest National Science Foundation (NSF) alliances in the nation, the Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (ALSAMP) strives through its twelve member institutions to increase the quality and quantity of under-represented minority students completing baccalaureate degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields. The interaction of ALSAMP students and faculty and the facilities are advantageous for all. The undergraduate institutions benefit from having their students participate in research experiences with research faculty, while the research institutions have the opportunity to work with, identify and recruit highly qualified minority students seeking to attend graduate school. The diversity of the Alliance - Historically Black Colleges/Universities, majority institutions, public and private institutions and research and teaching institutions - boast a new era of cooperation as the Alliance seeks to maximize learning opportunities and increase the achievement bar for all ALSAMP students.

The Alabama Alliance was the first NSF alliance to develop and implement the following programs and activities: LSAMP Scholars Program, Summer Bridge Program for High School Graduates, Summer Research Program for Undergraduate STEM Students, Graduate Bridge Program for Graduate School Bound Undergraduates, Drop-In Centers/Cooperative Learning Centers for STEM Students, The NSF Summer Research Conference for LSAMP Students and the NSF LSAMP Magazine.

The Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance
for Minority Participation

Lead Institution:

The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)
Dr. Louis Dale, Principal Investigator
Dr. Carolyn Braswell, Co-Principal Investigator, Project Director and UAB Site Coordinator
1530 3rd Avenue South
Campbell Hall 401
Birmingham, AL  35294-1170
Phone: 205-934-8762 · Fax: 205-934-1650
E-mail: ldale@uab.edu · cbraswel@uab.edu

Alabama A&M University (AAMU)
Dr. Jacqueline U. Johnson, AAMU Site Coordinator
(256) 372-5713 · jacq.johnson@email.aamu.edu

Alabama State University (ASU)
Dr.Carl Pettis, ASU Site Coordinator    
(334) 229-4484 · cpettis@alasu.edu
Mr. Elijah Nyairo, ASU Co-Site Coordinator
(334) 229-6923 · enyairo@alasu.edu

Auburn University (AU)
Dr. Overtoun M. Jenda, AU Site Coordinator
(334) 844-4184 · jendaov@auburn.edu


Miles College (MC)
Dr. James Langie, MC Site Coordinator
(205) 929-1544 · jlangie@miles.edu


Oakwood University (UC)
Dr. Kenneth LaiHing, OC Site Coordinator   
(256) 726-7112 · laihing@oakwood.edu

Stillman College (SC)
Dr. Mary Jane Krotzer, SC Site Coordinator 
(205) 366-8929 · mkrotzer@stillman.edu

Talladega College (TC)
Dr. Silas Edet, TC Site Coordinator  
(256) 761-6300 · sbedet@talladega.edu

Tuskegee University (TU)
Dr. Herman Windham , TU Co-Site Coordinator
(334) 727-8556 · windham@tuskegee.edu

The University of Alabama (UA)
Dr. Viola L. Acoff, UA Site Coordinator
(205) 348-3761 · vacoff@eng.ua.edu

The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH)
Dr. Emanuel Waddell, UAH Site Coordinator
(251) 432-2275 · ewaddell@chemistry.uah.edu

The University of South Alabama (USA)
Dr. Alexandra Stenson, USA Site Coordinator
(251) 460-7432 · astenson@jaguar1.usouthal.edu


UPCOMING EVENTS:


April 10-11, 2011


2009 ALSAMP Spring Executive Meeting and Scholars/Fellows Conference

Montgomery, AL

----------------------


May 31-July 15, 2011

ALSAMP Summer Bridge Program at The University of Albama at Birmingham


----------------------


June , 2011

Joint Annual Meeting (JAM)
Washington, D.C.



shading