Getting started

Getting Started in the Blackboard LMS

You can access your blackboard course shells through the Faculty Dashboard under the Courses & Training tab in Blazernet. But since you're already here, this page will walk you through logging in to the system from this web site, right after we list a few blackboard basics:

  • Maximum individual Course size = 2 GB : the sum total of the files you load into your course cannot exceed 2 GB (this does not include files loaded by students in a given term)
  • Maximum Individual file size = 50 MB: but you really shouldn't test this maximum out. Large files are difficult to access for some students on the other end (particularly if they have limited bandwidth connections at home). You should use our streaming server for large files.
  • Only instructors from the previous and current terms, and students enrolled in the current term will have access to the system
  • Seminars,labs and indepedendent study sections don’t get populated with instructors by default. If you are teaching a course that contains a B,D, or E in its banner ID then you will have to request to be placed in the course as instructor (https://ask.it.uab.edu)
  • Standard Course Timeline:
    • Course shell loads 35 weeks before the academic term starts: you will be able to access and edit the course shell at this point in time; e.g. course shells for the Fall 2012 term (start date of August 15th) were loaded into the system on 12/14/2011.
    • Note: You will not have access to any course shell unless you have been entered into Banner as the instructor of record.
    • By default students can access their courses on the first official day of term; instructors can change this through the course request form
    • By default, students have access to their courses for 10 days beyond the last day of term; instructors can change this using the course request form
    • Instructors can view student enrollment details 15 days prior to the start of term, but you won’t be able to communicate (e.g. send announcements or email) until the first day of term unless you request that students get access to your course prior to the first class date.
    • Your courses will be archived after 2 years plus 1 term beyond the course completion date.

Click to learn about logging in