Ethics Bowl

Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl

UAB fields teams in two kinds of intellectually competitive Ethics Bowl. The first is the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, organized nationally in 10 regions. UAB competes in the Southeast Regional, commonly considered the toughest regional. Winners of the 10 regionals advance to a 32-team national competition each year. In 2010, UAB won the IEB National Championship in the second year in which UAB had participated. The UAB team (shown below) defeated Weber State for the national title.

The 2010 National Championship Team:


UAB is on track to retake the national title having lost last year in the final round. UAB won the Southeast Regional 8th Annual Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl competition having defeated Wake Forest for the regional title. UAB went undefeated. The national competition will be held in March of 2012.

The 2011 Regional Championship Team:


(Shown from left to right: Dr. Greg Pence, Rachel Rosales, Chris Graves, Ethan Mallick Hossain who is also Mr. UAB 2011, Maja Mzombwe, and Kevin Jiang)