UAB creates Commission on the Status of Women, appoints chair

UAB President Carol Z. Garrison, Ph.D., and Vice President for Equity and Diversity Louis Dale, Ph.D., announced the formation of the Commission on the Status of Women in November 2004. Its first members were appointed in 2005, including Mona Fouad, M.D., as its chair.

Commission holds inaugural meeting

On August 25, 2005, the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) held the first official meeting with UAB President Carol Garrison, Provost Eli Capilouto, and Vice President of Equity & Diversity Louis Dale. During the meeting, Mona Fouad, MD, chair of the CSW presented the progress that the group had made during the first six months since its creation. She introduced the committees and corresponding leaders.

CSW - Commission Members Group
Pictured above is the inaugural Commission on the Status of Women.