Vickers-BookcaseI hope you received your copy of the School of Medicine Annual Report over the holidays, and that you enjoyed reading about the world-class work of our faculty and students during the 2013-2014 academic year. The report is also available online here.

Next up is our State of the School address, set for Wednesday, Jan. 28, at noon at Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium. I invite you join us in person, or to watch via live stream at

Here’s a preview of the accomplishments I look forward to sharing in the address:

  • Boosting our National Institutes of Health funding ranking from 31st to 26th, our first positive growth in 12 years
  • Launching major initiatives in Informatics, Cancer Survival Outcomes, Genomic Science, and Personalized Medicine
  • Recruiting of outstanding physicians and scientists, including leaders in pediatrics, nephrology, and hematology/oncology, among others
  • Achieving the highest level of accreditation by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, underscoring the high caliber of faculty who are teaching our students
  • Developing a comprehensive center for simulation, a key tool in medical education

Many of our medical alumni participated in a survey conducted by our Development office in partnership with the Medical Alumni Association in mid-2014. Respondents gave us great feedback on their concerns about where medicine is going in the 21st century, what makes them feel connected to the School, and the aspects of our mission in which they feel most invested. They also told us they want to know more about our School and our programs, and especially about our people: faculty, students, and fellow alumni.

We agree. We have a powerful story to tell. And we are stepping up our efforts to tell it.

I hope you will join us for the State of the School address, and that you will continue to tell us what’s on your mind. You are, after all, an important part of the School of Medicine story.

Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS
Senior Vice President for Medicine and Dean
James C. Lee Endowed Chair