Displaying items by tag: give

DeWayne Tooson, M.D. ’91, who lost his daughter Jessica in 2018 when she was a 21-year-old college student has announced a new memorial scholarship to promote diversity in medicine and improve care access for mental health. 

The Patrice L. Knight, M.D., Endowed Memorial Scholarship, named to honor the longtime regional chair of Pediatrics at the Huntsville Regional Medical Campus, will recognize medical students who embody Knight’s passions for teaching, mentorship, and community service. Knight retired in 2020 after 35 years at the UAB Huntsville campus and passed away in early 2022.
Tagged under

Cain, now cancer-free, wants others to receive the same level of compassionate care she did during her time of need.

Sharon A. Spencer, M.D., professor in the UAB Department of Radiation Oncology, is the 2021 winner of the Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine. The award recognizes physicians at UAB who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to providing highly skilled and deeply compassionate medical care to their patients.

Desalyn Johnson has been awarded the 2021 Sara Crews Finley, M.D. Endowed Leadership Scholarship. She will be officially presented the scholarship at the 2021 entering class White Coat Ceremony on Sunday, Aug. 15.