Mary Ashley Canevaro

Mary Ashley Canevaro

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Heersink School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion celebrates National Hispanic Heritage Month with an in-person gathering at University Tacos on Oct. 6 at 5:30 p.m.

Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the Heersink School of Medicine and director of the Minority Health and Health Equity Research Center, has been elected to the National Institutes of Health’s Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) Working Group on Diversity.

The Office for Diversity and Inclusion is proud to celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month from Sept. 15-Oct. 15. For the first installment of our three-part series, we sat down with Angelica Jaimes Rice, a staff member who works in Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics as a speech-language pathologist, to tell us about her work and her heritage.

In Part 3 of the Women in Medicine month series, we learn about the work and the career journeys of three more chairs: Cheri Canon, M.D., FACR, FSAR, FAAWR, chair of the Department of Radiology; Adrienne Lahti, M.D., chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology; and Teresa Wilborn, Pharm.D., Ph.D., interim chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology.

In Part 2 of the Women in Medicine month series, we hear inspiring moments from the career journeys of Boni Elewski, M.D., chair of the Department of Dermatology, and Marie Carmelle Elie, M.D., chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine.

The first-ever Staff Grand Rounds session launched July 27 and featured a presentation by Megan McMurray Hays, Ph.D.

Staff Grand Rounds is launching July 27 and aims to empower and educate staff on topics of professional advancement, engagement, belonging, professional adaptability, and more. 

UAB Medicine Institute for Leadership has named their next cohort for Spring 2023: cohort six.

Tenured Professor and 1917 Clinic Director James Raper, Ph.D., CRNP, J.D., FAAN, FAANP, FIDSA, retires Dec. 1, 2022 after four decades of service in HIV care in the southeast.

After a two-year pause due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Medical Alumni Association (MAA) hosted Dine with the Docs from Nov. 3-5. Dine with the Docs is a dinner event that connects current medical students with Heersink School of Medicine alums in small groups.
Page 3 of 20