Mary Ashley Canevaro

Mary Ashley Canevaro

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

UAB Medicine Institute for Leadership has named their next cohort for Spring 2023: cohort six.

Tenured Professor and 1917 Clinic Director James Raper, Ph.D., CRNP, J.D., FAAN, FAANP, FIDSA, retires Dec. 1, 2022 after four decades of service in HIV care in the southeast.

After a two-year pause due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Medical Alumni Association (MAA) hosted Dine with the Docs from Nov. 3-5. Dine with the Docs is a dinner event that connects current medical students with Heersink School of Medicine alums in small groups.

One year ago, our medical school received a historic gift from longtime supporter Marnix E. Heersink, M.D., and his family. The $95 million contribution named our school the UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine while setting us on a transformational path of excellence and opportunity.

The annual White Coat Ceremony marks a pivotal moment in every future physician’s life—a moment when dreams become a reality. The white coat symbolizes duty, hard work, and the excitement of what lies ahead. For one medical student at this year’s ceremony, the tradition held even more meaning, one rooted in a three-generation legacy.

Heersink School of Medicine research faculty are invited to attend a new faculty support group beginning Friday, Sept. 30 at 11:30 a.m.

The second year of UAB’s Momentum in Medicine program launched this month and includes 16 women across UAB Medicine and UAB Heersink School of Medicine.

Heersink and UAB Medicine are working to reduce disparities by adopting a new recommended formula to assess kidney function—one that no longer includes race as a variable for kidney health—effective Thursday, Sept. 1.

As the Heersink School of Medicine grows, the leadership has defined four new research focus areas to grow over the next five to seven years. This part explores the last focus area, Brain Health and Disease Across the Lifespan.

Vladimir Parpura, M.D., Ph.D., professor in the Department of Neurobiology, is listed as the second highest cited experts in the world on astrocytes.

Page 1 of 17