October 02, 2017

Two faculty at UAB receive prestigious designations from the American College of Rheumatology

Written by

chatham mountz 2017W. Winn Chatham, M.D., left, and John D. Mountz, M.D., Ph.D.The American College of Rheumatology, at its annual meeting to be held in November, will recognize two faculty members at the University of Alabama at Birmingham with prestigious designations for their contributions in the field of rheumatology.

“Our Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology boasts some of the top minds in the field, and we are honored to have these faculty practicing at UAB,” said Seth Landefeld, M.D., chair of the UAB Department of Medicine. “This is a well-deserved recognition for their many contributions to rheumatology.”

The ACR will award John D. Mountz, M.D., Ph.D., J.W. and Virginia Goodwin-Warren D. Blackburn Jr. Endowed Chair in Rheumatology at UAB, with the ACR Master Designation, one of the highest honors the college bestows. This designation is conferred on ACR members who have made outstanding contributions to the ACR and the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and/or service to their patients, students and profession.

W. Winn Chatham, M.D., Louis W. Heck Clinical Scholar at UAB, was selected to receive the ACR Distinguished Clinician Scholar Award. Each year, this award goes to a rheumatologist who has made outstanding contributions in clinical medicine, clinical scholarship or education.