April 19, 2023

Montgomery Health Policy Meeting a success, save the date for next year

Written by

Dr. David Whitcomb presenting at Montgomery Health PolicyThe Montgomery Health Policy Meeting, sponsored by UAB Heersink School of Medicine Montgomery Regional Medical Campus, held its inaugural event on Thursday, April 13, 2023. The esteemed Kennamer Distinguished Lecturer, Dr. David Whitcomb, delivered the keynote address.

The objective of this meeting is to bring together prominent individuals from the fields of medicine, public health, public policy, and government to discuss urgent issues affecting the state. The attendance of over 200 people highlighted the significance of this meeting to the community.

Since its establishment in 1978, the Kennamer Distinguished Lecture series has been inviting renowned leaders in the healthcare field to Montgomery, facilitating interactions with the local medical, business, and political community, and providing a platform for discussions on significant medical issues.


  • David C. Whitcomb M.D., Ph.D., professor emeritus at the University of Pittsburgh and a pioneer in the use of mathematics, genetics, neurosciences, immunology, and epidemiology
  • Bryan Stevenson, founder and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative, a human rights organization in Montgomery
  • Marc J. Kahn, M.D., MBA, MACP, FRCP, dean of the Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine and vice president for Health Affairs at the University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • Geeta Nayyar, M.D., MBA, chief medical officer at Salesforce

Key Takeaways

Key highlights from the event include discussions on how Montgomery can unite as the state's capital to effectively prepare for future generations of patients, strategies to inspire and train current students to pursue careers in medicine and patient care, and innovative ways to leverage technology to enhance physician accessibility for patients while optimizing their time and responsibilities.

Mark your calendars for April 4, 2024 - the date of next year’s meeting.