November 27, 2023

Heersink School of Medicine welcomes 13 new endowed chairs and professorships

Written by

The Fall 2023 Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception honored 13 esteemed Heersink School of Medicine faculty members for their contributions to modern medicine and medical education. Screen Shot 2023 11 27 at 4.27.20 PMAnupam Agarwal, M.D., dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, welcomed the honorees, their families, and Heersink School of Medicine leaders to the Wallace Tumor Institute on Nov. 14 to celebrate the new endowed chairs and professorships.

The reception honored recipients and acknowledged donors who created or contributed to the endowed chairs and professorships. Being named to an endowed chair or professorship position is the highest honor a faculty member can achieve.

Endowed professorship and chair positions generate spendable funds to support the holder’s work. These endowments advance research by funding labs, students in the lab and the classroom, travel to professional meetings and conferences that foster collaboration and promote scholarly work, and more.

Endowed chairs and professorships allow donors to link their names to an area of interest within the university. Some choose to endow a chair or professorship in the academic discipline that inspired them, to create scholarships or fellowships for deserving students, or to support medical research of particular importance to them.

The faculty recognized for new endowed chairs and professorships include:

Daniel I. Chu, M.D.
Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., F.A.C.S., Endowed Chair in the Department of Surgery

Ravi Bhatia, M.D.
John G. Kelton, M.D., Endowed Chair in Hematology-Oncology

Kenneth Boockvar, M.D.
Gwen McWhorter Endowed Chair in Geriatric Medicine

Timmy C. Lee, M.D.
Hilda B. Anderson Endowed Chair in Nephrology

Britney Corey, M.D.
Marshall Urist Endowed Professorship

Rubin Pillay, M.D., Ph.D.
Marnix E. Heersink Endowed Professorship in Biomedical Innovation

Dana Rizk, M.D.
Anupam Agarwal, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Nephrology

Anna E. Thalacker-Mercer, Ph.D.
UAHSF Endowed Professorship in Regenerative and Translational Medicine

Ryan Rhoads Kraemer, M.D.
Dr. Tinsley R. Harrison Endowed Chair in Medical Resident Education

Brian R. Davis, Ph.D.
Nancy R. and Eugene C. Gwaltney Family Endowed Chair in Medical Research

Akila Subramaniam, M.D.
Bruce Harris, Jr., M.D., Endowed Professorship

Javier Neyra, M.D.
David G. Warnock, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Academic Nephrology

Rebecca C. Arend, M.D.
Dr. James and Vicki Orr Endowed Professorship in Women’s Oncology

See more pictures from the Fall 2023 Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception.