Phillip Pinyan

Phillip Pinyan

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
On Nov. 15, 2023, UAB’s Heersink School of Medicine, Department of Medical Education, and Medical Alumni Association hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony to celebrate the opening of the Heersink Family Active Learning Center. The brand-new center in Volker Hall represents a milestone in UAB’s cutting-edge medical education curriculum. The construction of this space was made possible by a generous donation from the Heersink Family Foundation.

Jason Noah, who began working in Medical Student Services (MSS) in 2013, reflects on how he has seen the department grow substantially in that time. In his goal to foster connections between student and Medical Education leadership, he sees himself as one small part of a larger mission to develop student leaders and commit to their lifelong success.

On Tuesday, September 19, 2023, the Healthcare Educators Academy (HEA) at UAB gathered to celebrate the program’s outgoing and incoming cohort of mentors and mentees. The reception was held at the UAB National Alumni Society House and included faculty and dean participation from across the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Optometry, Health Professions, and Public Health.

Jason Noah, director of Student Success Programs in the Department of Medical Education, has been selected as a recipient of the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff.

In 2023, second-year medical students Cody Grier and Henry Haken completed their summer research opportunity in an inaugural program with the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH). In partnership with the Heersink School of Medicine Montgomery Regional Campus, the ADPH provided guidance to Grier and Haken as they developed projects centered around health literacy.

As part of Heersink School of Medicine’s Medical Student Services, the Academic Success Program provides personal, professional, and educational support to UAB medical students. Each semester, the Academic Success team invites students to participate in the variety of tutoring and learning services they offer. Students have access to the program all four years of medical school.

On August 13, 2023, members from the UAB Heersink School of Medicine incoming MS1 class gathered with friends, family, faculty, and staff to celebrate the White Coat Ceremony.

In April 2023, Alejandra Colón-López, Ph.D., the Department of Medical Education’s first postdoctoral scholar in its history, received a MERIT award from NIH/NIGMS. The Mentored Experiences in Research, Instruction, and Teaching (MERIT) Program is an Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Award (K12) that aims to allow postdoctoral scholars opportunity for research and teaching experiences.

In fall 2023, the Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine opened the doors of its Heersink Family Active Learning Center to students, heralding a new era of teaching and learning for UAB medical students.

The Department of Medical Education mourns the recent passing of Robin Lester, Ph.D., Course Director for the Neuroscience Module. Dr. Lester was a pillar of innovative education within the Heersink School of Medicine, and his loss will be felt throughout our department.

Page 2 of 4